Faculty       Chairs/Directors    
Dean of the Faculty/Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Class of 1948 Chair for Excellence in Teaching

Current Holder: Patricia Fehling
Previous Holders: Susan Kress, Mary Ann Foley, John Anzalone

Endowed in 1998 by the Class of 1948 at its 50th Skidmore Reunion, the Class of 1948 Chair recognizes and celebrates Skidmore’s primary mission of educating undergraduates and the excellence of Skidmore’s faculty in providing students a superb education. Representing excellence in teaching at Skidmore across the disciplines – in classroom, studio, recital hall, and laboratory – the Class of 1948 Professor for Excellence in Teaching will be a Skidmore faculty member with a long and distinguished record of teaching at the College, one who has served as a mentor to new faculty members and as a model of dedication to the intellectual growth of our students to all faculty. Occupants of the Class of 1948 Chair will normally be appointed for five years and will be expected to participate in mentoring and pedagogy programs at the College. Members of the faculty will address nominations to the Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs, who will consult with the Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure, the Department, and, when applicable, the Program concerned, in making a recommendation.