Faculty       Chairs/Directors    
Dean of the Faculty/Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Courtney and Steven Ross Chair in Interdisciplinary Studies 

Current Holder: James Kennelly
Previous Holders: Terry Diggory, Sheldon Solomon, Mary-Elizabeth O'Brien

In recognition of the centrality of interdisciplinary studies at Skidmore College, of their role in engaging students in exploring questions from multiple perspectives and encouraging faculty to explore the borders among disciplines, Courtney Sale Ross ’70 established the Courtney and Steven Ross Chair in Interdisciplinary Studies. The Ross Professor will be one whose work at the borders – between the arts and sciences, between professional programs and the liberal arts, between more closely allied disciplines, or within Liberal Studies – informs and inspires us all. The Ross Chair, while renewable, is intended to support the work of a number of faculty and will, therefore, be occupied typically for five years. Members of the faculty will address nominations to the Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs, who will consult with the Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure, the Department, and, when applicable, the Program concerned, in making a recommendation.