Faculty       Chairs/Directors    
Dean of the Faculty/Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Tisch Family Distinguished Professorship

Current Holder: Denise Smith
Previous Holder: Mehmet Odekon, David Porter

Established in honor of Wilma (Billie) Stein Tisch ’48 on the occasion of her 80th birthday, the Tisch Family Distinguished Professorship will recognize distinguished faculty members of all disciplines whose extraordinary scholarship and teaching have had a significant impact on the students who have studied with them.   Preference for appointment to the position shall be given to a faculty member who is noted as a leader in his or her academic field and who has influenced his or her students’ thinking, values, and understanding of the world.  Occupants of the Tisch Family Distinguished Professorship will typically be appointed for five years.  Members of the faculty will address nominations to the Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs, who will consult with the Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure, the Department, and, when applicable, the Program concerned, in making a recommendation.