Faculty       Chairs/Directors    
Dean of the Faculty/Vice President for Academic Affairs

Faculty Meeting Minutes

February 28, 2014

Gannett Auditorium



President Glotzbach was unable to attend this faculty meeting; therefore, Beau Breslin, Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs, chaired the meeting. DOF/VPAA Breslin called the meeting to order at 3:34 p.m.


DOF/VPAA Breslin asked if there were any corrections to, or comments regarding, the minutes of the Faculty Meeting held February 7, 2014.  Hearing none, he announced the minutes were approved.


Faculty Development Committee. Professor James Kennelly, Chair of the Faculty Development Committee, announced that Professor Steve Stern, Department of English, was awarded the Edwin M. Moseley Faculty Lectureship for 2014-15.  Professor Kennelly thanked all the nominees who chose to be considered this year.  A round of applause was given to Professor Stern.

After offering his congratulations to Professor Stern, DOF/VPAA Breslin introduced the newest faculty members who were awarded tenure effective March 1, 2014: Associate Professor April Bernard, Department of English, and Associate Professor Rubén Graciani, Department of Dance. A congratulatory round of applause was given to each of the candidates.

Thereafter, DOF/VPAA Breslin reported on the recent Board of Trustees’ retreat held in Florida. In addition to their normal business, the Board discussed the College’s accreditation and the ways in which Board members can participate in this process.  Professor Sarah Goodwin and Lisa Christenson, Assessment Facilitator, also led a conversation on assessment and the ways in which we can measure student learning outcomes and outcomes from other areas of the College.   Further, Trustee Bob Weisbuch, former President of Drew University, led very interesting conversations on the state of the humanities, both nationally and at Skidmore.  The members of President’s Cabinet also reported on student health, admissions, budget parameters for FY ’15, the campaign, and strategic planning. 

Concluding his report, DOF/VPAA Breslin provided an update to the question asked by Associate Professor Katie Hauser at last month’s faculty meeting concerning the weather policy.  DOF/VPAA Breslin advised that a group consisting of he; Barbara Beck, Associate Vice President for Finance and Administration and Director of Human Resources; Rochelle Calhoun, Vice President and Dean of Students; Dan Rodecker, Director of Facilities Services; and Mike West, Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer, have been meeting to discuss the current weather policy and the possibility of revisions.  A further update will be provided shortly.


There was no old business.


There was no new business.


A motion was made and seconded to move into a Committee of the Whole to discuss proposed changes to Part One of the Faculty Handbook; the motion passed by majority voice vote.  Professor Bibow was appointed as chair of the Committee of the Whole.  A 45-minute time limit was set. Prior to the commencement of the Committee of the Whole, Professor Mary Odekon provided an overview of the proposed revisions.  At the conclusion of the Committee of the Whole, Professor Bibow rose and reported that a discussion on the proposed changes to Part One of the Faculty Handbook was held.


  • DOF/VPAA Breslin announced that the President’s Office will be scheduling a Strategic Planning meeting on Friday, March 21, 2014.  More information will be forthcoming shortly.
  • Associate Professor Rubén Graciani announced that Skidmore is part of a consortium of more than a dozen national liberal arts colleges participating in a grant designed to study and advance integrated learning.  A brief survey will soon be sent to faculty asking for information regarding each faculty member’s research and teaching interests.  Over the summer, these results will be used to create groups of faculty with similar interests; in the fall, an event will be held to “introduce” those colleagues who share common interests.  Associate Professor Graciani asked the faculty to please consider completing the survey. 
  • Associate Professor Erica Bastress-Dukehart announced that the theme for next year’s science literacy project is Alien Invasions. The Science Literacy Faculty Interest Group is seeking 16 faculty for this project; those faculty participating in the project will receive a stipend of $1,100.  For those who are interested in participating, Associate Professor Bastress-Dukehart and Professor Mark Hofmann will hold an informational meeting on March 6, 2014.   Further details will be forthcoming via email.
  • On behalf of the Dean of Special Programs, Auden Thomas, Director of Summer Academic Programs and Residencies, invited everyone for a reception immediately following the faculty meeting to be held in the Zankel Hall Lobby.  

The meeting was adjourned at 5:02 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Debra L. Peterson
Executive Administrative Assistant