Ensemble ConnectBuy Tickets here


Ensemble Connect

A program of Carnegie Hall,  The Julliard School and the Weill Music Institute
in partnership with the New York City Department of Education

Ensemble Connect – the two-year fellowship program created in 2007 by Carnegie Hall, The Juilliard School, and the Weill Music Institute in partnership with the New York City Department of Education, holds two five-day residencies at Skidmore College in October and February. These residencies involve professional composers, Ensemble Connect fellows, and guest musicians. While in residence, the fellows engage with students, faculty, and our community in a variety of ways, including class visits, compositional readings, coaching sessions, informal performances and programming throughout campus, outreach to local schools and organizations, and a world premiere performance by Ensemble Connect featuring commissioned works by the resident guest composer.

The Ensemble Connect residency was born from a proposal developed by Carnegie Hall and The Juilliard School to improve arts education in New York City public schools and to train a new generation of professional musicians dedicated to arts education. In this program, post-conservatory fellows present a series of public concerts in various ensemble configurations to hone their performance skills. With the initial help of a New York State Music Fund grant, Carnegie Hall expanded this series to include four performances dedicated to new music, two held at Carnegie Hall and two at Skidmore College in Saratoga Springs.


Ensemble ConnectPhoto by: Fadi Kheri
Inaugurated in 2007, past guest composers include:

Fall 2017 October 2017 Program
Spring 2017 Caroline Shaw
Fall 2016 David Bruce
Spring 2016 Ted Hearne
Fall 2015 Timo Andres
Spring 2015 Meredith Monk
Fall 2014 David Lang
Spring 2014 George Friedrich Haas
Fall 2013 Andy Akiho
Spring 2013 Missy Mazzoli
Fall 2012 Samuel Carl Adams
Spring 2012 Sleeping Giant
Fall 2011 Ryan Gallagher
Spring 2011 David Bruce
Fall 2010 Timo Andres
Spring 2010 David Bruce
Fall 2009 Daniel Bernard Roumain
Spring 2009 Marc-Andrew Dalbavie
Fall 2008 Kayhan Kalhor
Spring 2008 Angel Lam
Fall 2007 Bright Sheng