FACULTY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2005 – 2006

Membership 2005-2006 Mary Ann Foley, Professor Psychology Sarah Goodwin, Associate Dean of the Faculty Katie Hauser, Associate Professor of Art Kate Leavitt, Chair, Associate Professor of Art Aldo Vacs, Professor of Government

Membership 2006-2007 Mary Ann Foley, Professor Psychology Katie Hauser, Associate Professor of Art Mark Hoffmann, Associate Dean of the Faculty Kate Leavitt, Chair, Associate Professor of Art Aldo Vacs, Professor of Government

The FDC met bi-weekly throughout the 2005-06 academic year on a regular basis and weekly as needed. The function of the FDC is to advise the Dean of the Faculty on faculty development policies and to initiate ideas for faculty growth and improvement, including programs to support both scholarly and professional activity and the improvement of teaching; to allocate such research funds as the Dean shall designate; to represent the faculty on the award of pre-tenure paid research and sabbatical leaves, and to make recommendations on such leaves to the Dean of the Faculty; and to select the annual Edwin Moseley Faculty Research Lecturer and the Ralph A. Ciancio Award for Excellence in Teaching. A complete list of the awards for 2005-2006 is attached to the end of this report.

FUNDING SOURCES

The 2004-05 FDC developed a proposal for a new faculty development opportunity entitled the Dean's Sabbatical Fellowship. This proposal was submitted to President Glotzbach in May 2005. The new Dean of the Faculty was made aware of the proposal on her arrival. The committee was informed that the proposal was in the list of initiatives to be presented for next year's budget but that there were many initiatives on the table. The Dean's Sabbatical Fellowship was not funded for the 2006-2007 year.

Two other awards funded by the President's Discretionary Funds were discontinued. There is no longer funding for Major Project Completion or Tang Exhibition grants. These funds are usually in place for three years and the terms of these grants ended. The FDC will be pursuing new opportunities for faculty development during the 2006-07 academic year.

This past year discussions began regarding the criteria for Summer Collaborative Research. An increase in faculty/student collaborations is an integral component of the

strategic plan. Discussions will continue through the summer and into the fall with regard to making this process more accessible to more disciplines and more students. One aspect of these discussions to make the process more accessible is to re-visit what we mean by collaborative research. The FDC will hold an open forum in October to discuss the Summer Collaborative Research grants. Due to ongoing discussions the complete guidelines will not be posted until December 2006 with a February 2007 deadline. In addition, the student stipend for summer collaborative work was increased from \$1000 to \$1250 for the summer of 2006. This past spring, Dean Poston was able to access funds to increase the number of teams able to work this summer. Fourteen teams were awarded a Summer Collaborative Grant.

STAFFING ISSUES

As stated in the FDC operating code, the chair of the Committee, in cooperation with the Committee secretary (a staff member from the DOF office), builds the Committee agenda, and convenes the Committee for deliberations, and making awards. In addition the Committee secretary assures that the faculty receive timely announcements of deadlines and instructions on how to apply. Chris McGill handled many of the details of the committee in the past and with her reappointment we lost the historical memory and fastidious attention to detail for the FDC. The Committee secretary no longer attended the bi-weekly meetings and the Committee recommends that this practice be reinstituted during the 2006- 2007 academic year.

MISCELLANEOUS

The Committee is also working this summer to rewrite the FDC Handbook to insure that the guidelines and applications for grants be in agreement. Links from the Dean's Office and Faculty Governance page will bring you directly to the Faculty Development Webpage, guidelines and application forms.

Respectfully submitted, Kate Leavitt, Chair FDC