FACULTY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT, 2014-15

Members 2014-15:

- James Kennelly, Management and Business
- Greg Pfitzer, American Studies
- Rachel Roe-Dale, Mathematics and Computer Science
- Patricia Rubio (designate from the Office of the Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs)
- Shirley Smith, Foreign Languages and Literatures (Chair)
- William Tomlinson (Sponsored Research Officer), invited guest

The year in summary:

The FDC met 14 times during the year. Minutes available @ https://skidmore.edu/fdc/meeting dates and minutes/2014-2015/index.php

The committee awarded Faculty Development Grants for fall and spring rounds, Faculty Research Initiative Grants, one International Faculty Development Seminar Grant, Emeritus Faculty Development Grants and a Kress Family Creative Pedagogy Grant. The committee recommended to the Office of the Dean of the Faculty grants for Faculty/Student Summer Collaborative Research Projects. The FDC designated recipients for the three major faculty awards: the Edwin M. Moseley Faculty Research Lecturer, the Ralph A. Ciancio Award for Excellence in Teaching, and the Distinguished Faculty Service Award. The FDC also recommended sabbatical leave in 2015-2016 for eligible faculty and selected a number of faculty applicants for full-year sabbatical enhancement: the Full-Year 60% Sabbatical Enhancement Award. Public data available @ https://skidmore.edu/fdc/internal_grants/index.php and https://skidmore.edu/fdc/awards/index.php

The FDC consulted (through the Associate Dean of the Faculty) with the SGA regarding the selection of the faculty speaker for the 2015 Commencement. FDC submitted two budget initiatives for AY 2015-16: neither was granted, but funds were added to the Faculty/Student Summer Collaborative Research Projects budget.

The

As committees in the past have stated, we would like to reaffirm that the FDC recognizes the stellar contributions of Bill Tomlinson, who, although classified as a "guest" at committee meetings, was not treated like one. We appreciate all of his help and work!

Similarly, we are also indebted to Debbie Petersen for her truly outstanding administrative support and for her continued good cheer.

Respectfully submitted, Shirley Smith, Chair 2014-15