Faculty Development Committee, Annual Report for 2016-2017

Members:

- Rachel Roe-Dale, Mathematics (Chair, 2016-2017)
- Greg Pfitzer, American Studies (Faculty Representative, 2016-2017)
- Aiwu Zhao, Management and Business (Faculty Representative, 2016-2017)
- Viviana Rangil, World Languages and Literatures (Faculty Representative, Fall 2016)
- Reginald Lilly, Philosophy (Faculty Representative, Spring 2017)
- Crystal Moore, Associate Dean of the Faculty
- William Tomlinson, Sponsored Research Officer

The year in summary:

The FDC met formally 16 times during the academic year. Agendas and minutes are available at http://www.skidmore.edu/fdc/meeting dates and minutes/2016-2017/index.php. During these meetings, the FDC completed its regular business which included:

- Review of nominations and faculty files and designation of the recipients of the three
 major faculty awards: The Distinguished Faculty Service Award, the Edwin M. Moseley
 Faculty Research Lecturer, and the Ralph A. Ciancio Award for Excellence in Teaching.
- Review and awarding of Faculty Development Grants for fall and spring rounds,
 Emeritus Faculty Development Grants for fall and spring rounds, Faculty Research
 Initiative Grants, the International Faculty Development Seminar Grant, and the Kress
 Family Creative Pedagogy Grant.
- Review and recommendation to the Office of the Dean of the Faculty awards for Full Year Sabbatical Enhancement for 2017-2018, Full Year Sabbatical Leaves for 2017-2018, Semester Sabbatical Leaves for Fall 2017, Semester Sabbatical Leaves for Spring 2018, Faculty/Student Summer Collaborative Research Grants and Schupf Scholar Research Grants.
- Consultation (through the Associate Dean of the Faculty) with the SGA regarding the selection of the faculty speaker for the 2017 Commencement.

Please see the attached list of awards and grants given during the 2016-2017 academic year.

In addition, the committee also completed the following tasks:

- Revised Faculty Development Handbook language to invite nominations from faculty and staff members for the Faculty Service Award.
- Revised Faculty Development Handbook language to allow nominees for the Ciancio Award to be faculty at any rank who have at least five years teaching experience at Skidmore.
- Revised Sabbatical application procedures to require an on-line Chair/Program Director approval form rather than a formal letter.
- Agreed to cosponsor up to two faculty members per year to participate in the National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity's Faculty Success Program.

• Renamed the service award the Phyllis A. Roth Faculty Distinguished Service Award

The committee wishes to thank Bill Tomlinson for his perspective and his work managing grant applications and budgetary details and Deb Peterson and Sue Blair for their invaluable administrative support.

Incoming committee membership:

- Flip Phillips, Psychology (Chair)
- Erica Bastress-Dukehart, History (Faculty Representative)
- Viviana Rangil, World Languages and Literatures (Faculty Representative)
- Joanne Vella, Art (Faculty Representative)
- William Tomlinson (Sponsored Research Officer)
- Crystal Moore (Associate Dean of the Faculty)

Respectfully submitted, Rachel Roe-Dale, Chair 2016-2017