FACULTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 2018-2019 ANNUAL REPORT

FEC would not be able to function without the assistance of some key people: Michael Orr, Sue Blair, Debbie Peterson, and Brooke Toma from the DOF office; Adam Reagan and Tony Kowalick from IT; and Idalia Sepulveda from the Office of Communications and Marketing. We also thank all of the faculty and staff who worked with us throughout the year.

The Faculty Executive Committee (FEC) met approximately weekly during the 2018-2019 academic year.

As in most years, FEC's routine work included responding to many faculty and committee inquiries about various governance-related topics.

FEC oversaw elections and appointments to governance committees for service beginning in 2019-2020. This included continued changes and upgrades to our committee management software. We also worked to ensure that faculty are meeting their governance service requirements, and we assisted the DOF in determining exemptions for faculty from the governance service mandate. Although this work is a single entry in this report, overseeing the elections is quite time-consuming.

Other than elections, other routine work for FEC included reviewing the Faculty Handbook for adoption in fall, 2019; participation in the search for VP for Finance and Administration and Treasurer; appointments of replacements to committees when needed; participation in New Faculty Orientation; and convening the Committee of Committees after the spring and fall semesters.

Throughout the year FEC discussed the nature of service and the current governance system, in addition to holding a poll on the topic (fall 2018, results here: https://www.skidmore.edu/governance/fec/FEC-SurveySummaryPresentation-Spring2019.pdf). FEC dislikes the way the restructuring has meant that only governance seems to "count" for service, but is reluctant to make substantive changes to the system before it is due to be evaluated during academic year 2023-24.

FEC held a Committee of the Whole (fall 2018) on the structure and leadership of the faculty meeting which led to a number of changes including the DOF/VPAA leading the meeting (instead of the president), reversing the order of business (with business coming before reports), announcements posted on the agenda (instead of read at the end of the meeting), and reports posted at least 48 hours before a meeting. Other changes suggested but not implemented – holding meetings Wednesday afternoons in a non-theater-like space: there is not an appropriate space on campus. FEC held a survey on these changes (spring 2019; report here: https://www.skidmore.edu/governance/fec/Spring2019-PollResultsFacultyMtgChanges.pdf), which reaffirmed broad faculty satisfaction with these changes, which will be implemented permanently in the 2019-20 year.

Other business FEC completed:

FEC held a faculty-only meeting in spring 2019 (report here https://www.skidmore.edu/governance/fec/FEC-RptOn2-15-19Faculty-OnlyMtg.pdf).

FEC consulted with the DOF/VPAA, the Committee of Committees, and the President's Office to revise the procedure for handling administrative dissent with FEC reports on the Committee of Committees meeting.

FEC ran a special election for faculty representatives to the Presidential Search Committee.

FEC worked with the Director of the Self-Determined major program to turn this into a governance committee (appointed) to ensure adequate faculty representation to supervise this important curricular work. Vote on this is pending until fall '19.

Next year FEC will work on ensuring each committee has a single website managed by committee members.

2018-2019 FEC Members:

Katie Hauser (Art History, Chair) Kendrah Murphy (Physics) Juan Navea (Chemistry) Casey Schofield (Psychology)

2019-2020 FEC Members:

Katie Hauser (Art History) Kendrah Murphy (Physics, Chair) Juan Navea (Chemistry) Casey Schofield (Psychology)

RESULTS OF ELECTIONS FOR 2019-20 AND APPOINTMENTS

Elections:

Promotions Committee Barbara Black (3 yrs), Eliza Kent (3 yrs)	
Faculty Executive CommitteeCasey Schofield (3 yrs)	
Institutional Policy and Planning Committee Joerg Bibow (3 yrs)	
Committee on Educational Policies and Planning Jina Mao (3 yrs)	
Committee on Academic Freedom and Rights Dan Curley (3 yrs)	
Curriculum Committee Maria Lander (3 yrs)	
Faculty Development Committee Silvia Carli (3 yrs), Matt Wilt (3 yrs)	
Tenure Review BoardMao Chen (3 yrs)	
Periclean Honors Forum Council Oscar Perez Hernandez (3 yrs)	
Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Tim Wientzen (1 yr)	
Athletic CouncilT. H. Reynolds (3 yrs)	

Appointments:

Appointments and Tenure Committee Curriculum Committee Committee on Academic Standing Faculty Advisory Board Periclean Honors Forum Council Athletic Council Reg Lilly (1 yr) Joowon Park (fall '19) Hassan Lopez (3 yrs) Michael Ennis-McMillan (3 yr) Paul Benzon (fall '19) Bernardo Rios (spring '20)