ANNUAL REPORT: EXTERNAL MASTER'S PROGRAM COMMITTEE

During 2005-2006, the External Master's Program Committee met a total of four times, meeting first early in the fall to welcome Paula Newberg as the Dean of Special Programs.

Six students presented their academic programs to the Committee for review and five received approval for their plans. The plans approved included Environmental Studies, Nineteenth-Century Women's History in the U.S., Mental Retardation and American Society, West African Studies: Language and Culture, and Women's Studies and Christian Theology.

The Committee also approved the new 3-credit Methods and Approaches independent study requirement as the last course in MALS students_ programs prior to the thesis.

The Committee recommended that nine students be awarded the Master of Arts degree.

The Committee would particularly like to express profound gratitude to Professor Erica Bastress-Dukehart for her devoted and inspired leadership during this year of transition and to the staff of the MALS program _ most especially, Sandy Welter _ as well as to Dean Newberg, for their energy, flexibility and vision. Professor John Anzalone will assume the position of Director of the Program on August 1st.

John Cosgrove Debra Fernandez Phyllis Roth (chair) Natalie Taylor Marc-Andre Wiesmann