Curriculum Committee Annual Report 2010-2011

<u>2010-2011 Membership</u>

Lisa Aronson, Art History (Chair)

Mary Campa, Psychology

Dave DeConno (Late Fall 2010; Spring, 2011)

Cory Freeman-Gallant, Associate Dean of Academic Advising

Anita Harris, Registrar's Office

Ann Henderson, Registrar (Fall, 2010)

Linda Hofmann, Library

Larry Jorgensen, Philosophy

Sylvia McDermott, Biology

Muriel Poston, Dean of Faculty (Fall, 2010)

Phoebe Pundyk '12 (Fall, 2010)

Michelle Rhee, English (Fall, 2010)

Paty Rubio, Dean of Faculty (Spring, 2011)

Peter von Allmen, Economic (Spring, 2011)

The Curriculum Committee met on a weekly basis throughout the 2010-2011 academic year during which we reviewed 72 proposals for new courses, including 16 FYEs; 121 proposals for course changes; and 31 proposals for changes to majors and minors. Significant among the latter were major overhauls of Dance, Education, Asian Studies, Anthropology, and Math/Computer Science. We also eliminated a number of interdepartmental majors, and have now approved Writing in the Discipline proposals for almost all of our majors and programs.

The Curriculum Committee also considered or resolved several curricular matters.

- In response to FECs ongoing Committee Structure initiative, we confirmed that we do **not** wish to reduce the number of faculty members on the committee below its current six;
- We began a discussion with CEPP of a proposal to expand the "Cultural Diversity" category in our all-College requirements; the CC Chair then served on the CEPP sub-committee to draft a proposal for the new requirement;
- The CC Chair met with Academic Staff and revised its new course proposal forms to clarify the guidelines for a flexible 4th credit;
- Working with IT and the Registrar's office, CC is making significant steps towards digitizing the CC approval procedure to avoid the manual circulation and archiving of massive quantities of paper.

In closing, I would like to thank the members of the Curriculum Committee for their hard and detailed work over the past academic year, particularly given the numerous membership changes we endured this year due to sabbaticals, maternity leaves retirements, and shifts in the DOF's office to accommodate Phil's leave. Mid year, we

saw the retirement of our Registrar Ann Henderson and welcomed Dave DeConno in her place. Between them, they helped to make the transition as seamless as possible, with Dave now a welcome addition to the committee. I wish to thank Muriel Poston, Dean of Faculty, and Paty Rubio, Associate Dean of Faculty, Cory Freeman-Gallant, Associate Dean of Academic Advising, and Anita Harris from the Registrar's Office for their helpful contributions to the committee. Also, many thanks to Jill Jones, Shannon Phillips, and Teresa Wagner from the DOF's office for all of their support, including monitoring the massive quantities of paperwork that are typically channeled through the DOF's office. Let me also thank our student assistant, Michael Heyward '11, for copying materials and delivering them to the appropriate faculty on a weekly basis.

I also would like to acknowledge Beau Breslin, Director of the First Year Experience, for his pivotal role in seeing through the approval of the 16 new FYE proposals, Giuseppe Faustini, Chair of the Self- Determined Major Subcommittee, for vetting the many SDM proposals, and Jennifer Crewell, Skidmore's Web Development Coordinator, for her high level of professionalism in posting approved catalog copy. Because of the dearth of continuing tenured faculty members on the committee, I have agreed to chair the Curriculum Committee for a second year. For more information regarding the Curriculum Committee, guidelines, proposal forms and submission deadlines, please refer to the CC website at http://cms.skidmore.edu/curriculum_committee/.

Regards,

Lisa Aronson, Curriculum Committee Chair, 2010-11