Faculty       Chairs/Directors    
Dean of the Faculty/Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Robert Davidson Chair in Art

Current Holder:  David Peterson
Previous Holder: John Cunningham, Doretta Miller, Kathleen Leavitt

This professorship was established in 1998 by Jean-Ellen ’37 and William J. Ash in honor of sculptor Robert Davidson, faculty member at Skidmore from 1933 to 1971. The Davidson Chair will be a distinguished artist and teacher who, like Professor Davidson, is capable of having a profound impact on his or her students. Although artists working in a range of media will be eligible for appointment to this Chair, special attention will be given when possible to choosing faculty whose interests reflect Professor Davidson’s particular interests in sculpture, life drawing, anatomy, and basic composition.  Under normal circumstances, the Davidson Chair will rotate among department faculty every five years.  Members of the Department of Art will address nominations to the Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs, who will consult with the Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure, the Department, and, when applicable, the Program concerned, in making a recommendation.