Faculty       Chairs/Directors    
Dean of the Faculty/Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Frances Young Tang '61 Chair in Chinese Studies

Current Holder: Xiaoshuo Hou
Previous Holders:

Established in recognition of prior support for Chinese Studies supplemented by a pledge completed in 2012 from Oscar Tang, the Frances Young Tang ’61 Chair in Chinese Studies is endowed to recognize excellence among the Skidmore faculty in the area of Chinese Studies.  The recipient may be drawn from disciplines such as foreign languages, government, music, art, or other fields with an emphasis on China and/or Chinese Studies.  Appointment to the Tang Chair, while renewable, is intended to support the work of a number of faculty and will, therefore, be limited typically to terms of five years.  Nominations for the Tang Professor will be submitted to the Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs, who will consult with the Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure, the Department, and when applicable, the Program concerned, in making a recommendation. The recipient may be drawn from the current faculty or recruited from outside the College.