MOTION

MOTION: The Committee on Educational Policies and Planning (CEPP) seeks to amend the Faculty Handbook (Section 2.c., pg 212 [pg 76 on the PDF] of 2018-2019 ed.) as follows, with the change highlighted in red:

Membership: Five faculty members, two of whom must be tenured, each from a different department and with at least one member from each of the four Divisions of Disciplines, elected to serve three year terms; the Dean of the Faculty/Vice President for Academic Affairs or his/her designated representative; the Dean of Students and Vice President for Student Affairs or his/her designated representative; two students selected by SGA; and the faculty director of assessment who, as an ex officio member, serves as liaison between CEPP and the IPPC subcommittee on institutional effectiveness. CEPP may appoint such subcommittees from among its members or from the College community at large as it deems helpful to facilitate its work.

RATIONALE: CEPP would like to put forth the motion of a modest, but positively important, modification to our membership criteria. We are proposing to modify membership to include the faculty director of assessment (FDA). This addition is important because the FDA 1) is involved in assessing outcomes of the policies being made on CEPP, and 2) is co-chair of the IPPC Subcommittee on Institutional Effectiveness (SIE). Thus, the FDA will serve as an additional faculty voice and a conduit for communication between two substantially related institutional committees.