MOTION

The Curriculum Committee (CC) moves to revise the Faculty Handbook language describing its membership. There are three proposed changes: (1) Reduce faculty membership from five members (including a Chair) to four members (including a Chair), (2) Adjust administrative roles on the committee, and (3) Reduce student membership from two to one.

Rationale: The rationale for the motion is as follows:

- 1. Reducing faculty membership on CC will make it easier to staff all committees.
 - We believe that the workload will still be manageable with 1 fewer faculty member.
 - Our revised language still demands that the 4 remaining faculty members come from different divisions, meaning that the committee will continue to be academically diverse.
- 2. According to the Faculty Handbook, the DOF/VPAA or a designated representative should be a voting member on the committee. Additionally, the Associate DOF for Student Academic Affairs should be a non-voting member. The Dean's Office feels that having only one voting representative (the Associate DOF for Student Academic Affairs) would be sufficient.
 - As has already been the case in practice, the Associate DOF for Student Academic Affairs will still be able to seek advice from other members of the Dean's Office as needed when helping to evaluate proposals, especially when considering resource implications. Thus, only one Dean's Office member is needed on the committee.
- 3. Since we are also proposing a reduction to faculty and administrative membership, reducing student membership on the CC from 2 to 1 would maintain a similar balance.
 - In practice, it has also been rare in recent years for both student positions to be filled. This change might also make it more likely that CC will have the full staffing called for in the Faculty Handbook.

Current Language: Part Two, section II.F.2.f, p. 213

Membership: Five faculty members, at least two of whom are tenured, each from a different department or program, with at least one member from each of the four Divisions of Disciplines, elected to serve three-year terms; the Dean of the Faculty/Vice President for Academic Affairs or a designated representative; and two students selected by SGA. Non-voting members of the committee are the Registrar and the Associate Dean of the Faculty (student academic affairs).

Proposed Language: Part Two, section II.F.2.f, p. 213

Membership: Voting members: Four faculty members, each from a different Division of Disciplines and at least two of whom are tenured, elected to serve three-year terms; the Associate Dean of the Faculty for Student Academic Affairs; and one student selected by SGA. Non-voting member: the Registrar.