Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
English Department

English Department Prizes Awarded at Convocation
May 5, 2021

The Edwin Moseley Prize in English: Eliza Kuperschmid ’21

Established in honor of Edwin Moseley, Provost and Dean of Faculty, 1961-78, and awarded to a senior in English who has shown outstanding promise as a literary critic, scholar, or artist, and who intends to pursue graduate studies or a career in writing.

Frances Steloff Poetry Prize: Andres Priest-Lopez ’21

Established by Miss Frances Steloff, longtime friend and benefactor of Skidmore College, and awarded annually to a student who has shown promise and superior work in the writing of poetry.

Denise Marcil ’74 Prize for Fiction Writing: Grace Hickey ’23

Awarded annually to a student for a fiction manuscript or set of manuscripts that reveal a sensitivity to theme, structure, characterization, and language found in serious fiction written in English.

The Sara Bennett ’92 Prize for Fiction: Aidan Norr ’21

Established in memory of Sara Bennett ’92, and awarded to a student who has excelled in the writing of fiction.

The Sally Chapman Thompson ’48 Prize in Literature: Nicole Wong ’21

Established by Kenneth Thompson in memory of Sally Chapman Thompson ’48, and awarded to the student who has excelled as a critic or scholar during their career as an English major.

* The two Joseph C. Palamountain Prose Awards for this year have been awarded to English majors Aymon Langlois ’23 and Nicole Wong ’21

Established in honor of Joseph C. Palamountain, president of Skidmore College, 1965-87, and awarded to the students submitting the best examples of expository prose in English, unrestricted as to subject matter.