Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Honors Convocation

Department and Program Prizes and Opportunity Awards

In addition to the Academic Awards presented at Honors Convocation, academic departments and programs give prizes and academic opportunity awards for paper competitions, field and laboratory research, artistic projects, and other creative endeavors. These prizes and awards build on close faculty-student collaborative work and represent outstanding academic achievement and accomplishment.

The Candace Carlucci Backus ’66 First-Year Experience Prize
Established by the Grayce B. Kerr Fund in honor of the former director of Alumni Affairs, Candy Backus, and awarded to students who submit exceptional scholarly or artistic work from their Scribner Seminar.

The Foley Psychology Department Research Fund
Endowed by Professors Hugh and Mary Ann Foley to honor Hugh’s parents, Griffin and Wanda Foley, for their belief in the value of higher education. The fund will provide support for one or more junior psychology majors who will be conducting thesis research in the senior year.

The Levine Internship Awards in American Government, Politics, and Law
The Levine Internship Awards honor the memory of Erwin L. Levine, who was a Skidmore Department of Government professor of American politics and Law, 1961–88. The awards are offered on a competitive basis to support Skidmore students who wish to undertake government internships in fields related to the practice of American government, politics, and/or law.
Mente et Malleo Award
Awarded to a senior on the basis of excellence in independent research projects in geosciences.

The Messa and Direnzo Family Student Opportunity Fund for Study in Italy
Awarded to students studying abroad in Italy who wish to engage in cultural activities in Italy, such as attend performances, visit museums, review archives, and travel to important sites.

The Stephanie Mnookin Theater Department Research and Creative Project Fund
The Theater Department awards grants to support theater projects, including professional production of a play, a professional internship, attendance at a professional conference or symposium, or work in a theater.  

Oleg Moston Award
Established to honor the memory of Oleg Moston, pianist in the Dance Department, 2005–10, to help support an outstanding young artist’s transition into the dance profession.    

Shakespeare & Company Summer Training Intensive Scholarship
Established by a generous anonymous donor and awarded annually, this enables an outstanding acting student to attend the prestigious summer program at Shakespeare & Company in Lenox, Massachusetts.

The Jeffrey and Cynthia Treuhaft Fund for Art Technology
The Treuhaft funds provide technology in support of student opportunities to work with faculty in new and innovative ways in any art form or medium

Joanna Schneider Zangrando Fund
Established in honor of Joanna Schneider Zangrando, professor of American studies, 1976–2007, to support projects in American studies as well as gender studies.