Annual Report for the Institutional Review Board 2003-2004

Members: Crystal Moore, Chair Denise Smith Paul Arciero Mary Ann Foley Kurt Freeman, Community-at-Large Member John Brueggemann, ex-officio

During the summer of 2003, the IRB developed an expanded Policy and Procedures document. Over 2003-2004, the document was implemented on a trial basis and was subjected to revisions. The committee met 11 times and 12 research protocols were subjected to a full review by the IRB. In addition, the Chair reviewed 13 protocols that were deemed exempt from expedited or full review. At the last meeting of the IRB, the Skidmore College Institutional Review Board Policy and Procedures document was formally adopted by the committee.

In the fall of 2003, the Chair developed an IRB website for the college community (www.skidmore.edu/academics/CFG/irb), an electronic filing and proposal submission system, and forms for use by the IRB and investigators. The system was tested during the spring semester and bugs identified. The system is being de-bugged summer 2004 and will be ready for campus-wide use beginning fall 2004.

The committee worked closely with the Dean of Faculty's office to plan for the filing of a Federal Wide Assurance that will allow the institution to receive federal grant money for research with human participants. The FWA assures the Department of Health and Human Services that the Institution will abide by the ethical principles put forth by the Belmont Report. The FWA will be filed this summer. Crystal Moore was appointed by the Dean of Faculty's office as the Human Subjects Administrator, a required institutional position to obtain an FWA, for the 2004-2005 academic year. The Human Subjects Administrator functions as the contact person for the DHHS Office for Human Research Protections and exercises operational responsibility for the institution's program for protecting human subjects in research.

Members for 2004-2005: Crystal Moore, Chair Pat Fidopiastas Pat Fehling Holley Hodgins Kurt Freeman, Community-at-Large Member John Brueggemann, ex-officio

Respectfully submitted,

Crystal Moore, Chair