Annual Report for the Institutional Review Board 2004-2005

Members:

Crystal Moore, Chair and IRB Administrator (Human Subjects Protection Officer) Holley Hodgins

Pat Fehling

Dan Nathan

Stephen Butler-Murray

Pat Fidopiastas (fall only)

Kurt Freeman, Community-at-Large Member

Chris McGill, IRB Coordinator

John Brueggemann, ex-officio

During AY 2004-2005, the full IRB met 4 times. The committee reviewed fifteen research protocols via expedited or full review. In addition, the Chair reviewed six protocols that were deemed exempt from expedited or full review.

The IRB website for the college community (www.skidmore.edu/academics/CFG/irb) is fully functional and investigators are expected to submit all documents to the IRB and the Chair electronically. The Federal Wide Assurance (FWA) was granted during the summer of 2004. Crystal Moore was again appointed as the Human Subjects Protection Officer for AY 2005-2006. The HSPO functions as the contact person for the Department of Health and Human Services Office for Human Research Protections and exercises operational responsibility for the institution's program for protecting human subjects in research.

In July 2005, the Chair met with Colleen Kelley who is working with the Dean's office to fill the IRB Coordinator position (clerical support) vacated by Chris McGill at the end of spring 2006. It is anticipated that Dean Muriel Poston's secretary will provide this assistance. This support is vital to the effective functioning of the IRB and is integral to maintaining continuity and institutional memory of committee activities. This support is also needed to begin the implementation and monitoring of required human subjects protection education for all campus investigators (per IRB Policy and Procedures) that is to begin this upcoming academic year.

Members for 2005-2006:

Crystal Moore, Chair (through spring 2006)

Pat Fehling (through spring 2006)

Holley Hodgins (through spring 2007; on leave spring 2006)

Stephen Butler-Murray (through spring 2007)

Dan Nathan (through spring 2007; on leave AY 2005-2006)

Kurt Freeman, Community-at-Large Member

Respectfully submitted,

Crystal Moore, Chair