## Annual Report for the Institutional Review Board 2008-2009

Members: Crystal Dea Moore, Chair Pat Fehling Caroline D'Abate Laura Paul Katrina Smith John Berman (fall only) Rebecca Johnson (spring only) Kurt Freeman, Community-at-Large Member Bill Tomlinson, Human Subjects Protection Officer (Ex-Officio member) Anita Miczek, IRB Coordinator

During AY 2008-2009, the full IRB met 10 times. Thirty-nine protocols were submitted for review from September 2008 through May 2009. Of these, 17 were full reviews (i.e. reviewed by the entire committee), and 22 were either expedited or exempt (seen only by the Chair).

Twenty-four protocols were deemed approval pending and 7 needed to be revised and re-submitted. Fifteen addenda were approved for protocols for 08-09 and 7 addenda were approved for active protocols that were submitted in previous years.

During the summer 2008, 10 protocols were submitted and all were deemed either expedited or exempt from review. When indicated, protocols received full board follow-up at the first fall IRB meeting.

Anita Miczek, the IRB Coordinator, managed the process of securing Continuing Reviews for all active protocols (62 protocols) prior to their renewal date.

In order to meet compliance obligations, the Federalwide Assurance was submitted for renewal. The Assurance received approval for a period of three years. The IRB membership was re-registered on two occasions, once in the fall and once in the spring to reflect changes in the members serving on the committee.

Given that the number of submissions has increased during the summer months, a proposal was submitted to and approved by the Dean's Office making arrangements for the IRB to function in the summer. This plan included three additional full IRB meetings during the summer: a late May meeting, a mid-July meeting, and a late August meeting. In addition, arrangements were made for a summer Chair to respond to new submissions and amendments to existing protocols. Laura Paul agreed to be Acting IRB Chair in the summer of 2009.

Respectfully submitted,

Crystal Dea Moore, Chair