## Annual Report for the Institutional Review Board 2011-2012

Members:
John Berman, Chair
Aiwu Zhao
Leanne Casale
Amy Mitchell
Rebecca Johnson
Mark Rye
Sonia Silva
Kurt Freeman, Community-at-Large Member
Bill Tomlinson, Human Subjects Protection Officer (Ex-Officio member)
Anita Miczek, IRB Coordinator

During AY 2011-2012, the full IRB met ten times. Fifty-two protocols were submitted for review during the academic year. No adverse events were reported.

During the summer 2011, John Berman continued his service as chair of the IRB. Five protocols were submitted and approved.

At the April IRB meeting, Rebecca Johnson, Chair of the PRB, the ethics committee in the Department of Psychology, presented a report on the PRB activity and distributed a table of proposals submitted to the PRB during Fall 2011 and Spring 2012.

Anita Miczek, the IRB Coordinator, managed the process of securing Continuing Reviews for all active protocols (75 protocols) prior to their renewal date.

The IRB membership was re-registered in the fall to reflect changes in the members serving on the committee.

Respectfully submitted,

John Berman, Chair