Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
New Student Advising & Registration Guide

 

Calendar & Additional Contacts for 2021 Summer Advising

  • July 16 - August 5: A member of Skidmore’s faculty or staff will contact you through your Skidmore email to set up an appointment time to discuss a variety of academic issues. Please be on the lookout for this important contact and prepare to talk to your summer advisor by reviewing this guide along with the advising & registration information shared with you through the FYE checklist . If you will be unavailable during this advising period, please contact the Office of Academic Advising, advising@skidmore.edu or 518-580-5720

  • August 4 & 5---Registration: The registrar will be sending specific information about registration to your Skidmore email. Students with last name A-K can begin registration on August 4 at 8 am ET; students with last name L-Z can begin registration on August 5 at 8 am ET. 

Additional Contacts for Summer Advising

Scribner Seminar Questions

  • Amon Emeka, Director of the First-Year Experience, Associate Professor of Sociology; or Marla Melito, Student Academic Development Coordinator; fye@skidmore.edu or 518-580-8111

Art Major

  • Sarah Sweeney, Associate Professor and Chair, Art Department

Arts Administration

Dance 

  • Sarah DiPasquale, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Dance

Education Major

  • Hope Casto, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Education Studies, hcasto@skidmore.edu or 518-580-5140

Engineering

Language Placement Exam and Course Placement Assistance

  • Chinese: Mao Chen, Professor, World Languages and Literatures, maochen@skidmore.edu
  • French: Tim Freiermuth, Lecturer, World Languages and Literatures, tfreierm@skidmore.edu
  • German: Mary-Beth O’Brien, Professor, World Languages and Literatures, mobrien@skidmore.edu
  • Italian: Shirley Smith, Professor, World Languages and Literatures, ssmith@skidmore.edu
  • Japanese: Masako Inamoto, Associate Professor, World Languages and Literatures, minamoto@skidmore.edu
  • Latin & ancient Greek: Dan Curley, Associate Professor and Chair, Classics Department, dcurley@skidmore.edu
  • Spanish and General Language Requirement Questions:
    Viviana Rangil, Professor & Chair, World Languages and Literatures, vrangil@skidmore.edu

Music

  • TBD

Math Placement Questions

  • David Vella, Associate Professor & Associate Chair, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, dvella@skidmore.edu 

Premed and Health Professions Advising

  • Denise Evert, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Psychology, devert@skidmore.edu

Applied Quantitative Reasoning Requirement & Diagnostic

  • Kelly Sheppard, Quantitative Reasoning Director and Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry, ksheppar@skidmore.edu

Theater Major Advising

If you need additional help, email us at advising@skidmore.edu or registrar@skidmore.edu.