Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Residential Life

Move-in, move-out and vacation dates

2017–18 academic year

 

Event

Date

Fall Semester  
     Pre-Orientation students move in Thursday, August 31, 8:30 a.m.
     New students arrive (transfer and Class of 2021) Sunday, September 3, 8:30 a.m.
     Returning students arrive Monday, September 4, 9 a.m.
     Thanksgiving break; residence halls close Wednesday, November 22, 10 a.m.
     Thanksgiving break; residence halls open Sunday, November 26, 2 p.m.
     Winter break; residence halls close Saturday, December 16, 10 a.m.
Spring Semester   
     New and transfer students arrive Friday, January 19, 9 a.m.
     London students arrive Saturday, January 20, 9 a.m.
     Returning students arrive Sunday, January 21, 9 a.m.
     Spring break; residence halls close Saturday, March 10, 10 a.m.
     Spring break; residence halls open Sunday, March 18, 2 p.m.
     Spring semester ends (all non-seniors leave) Saturday, May 12, 10 a.m.
     Seniors leave (post-Commencement) Sunday, May 20, 10 a.m.



* During finals week, students are expected to leave campus within 24 hours of their last exam.
** Dates and times are subject to change.

 

Moving-Out Information

Dates

  • Non-seniors: Final move-out is 24 hours after the student's last final exam, and no later than 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 12

  • Seniors: Final move-out for all graduating seniors is 10 a.m. on Sunday, May 20

Important information to note

  • Residence hall rooms and apartments need to be left in the same condition as found upon moving in, including original furnishings assigned to the room. Students can refer to their room/apartment inspection form for details of the original condition.

  • Non-senior students who remain on campus after May 12 without prior approval will be assessed a fee of $250 per day.

  • All personal items (bicycles, etc.) in storage closets must be removed before move-out, or they may be disposed of after Commencement.

  • A charge will be assessed for rooms not in original condition, or without original furnishings (excessively dirty, room damage, extra or missing furniture).

  • When packing and cleaning, please consider the Give+Go donation program for unwanted items. Donation boxes, recycling bins and trash dumpsters are available, as well as extra trash bags in kitchen areas.