Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Summer Writers Institute
Margo Jefferson reading – photo by Jim McLaughlin
Margo Jefferson reading – photo by Jim McLaughlin

New York State Summer Writers Institute

2019 Public Reading Schedule

All Readings are held in Gannett Auditorium, Palamountain Hall and begin at 8 pm unless otherwise noted (schedule subject to change). Admission is FREE and open to the public.  Sponsored, in part, by the New York State Writers Institute, State University of New York at Albany.


Week one:

July 1: Novelist Elizabeth Benedict & Poet Gregory Pardlo  

July 2: Poet Robert Pinsky & Novelist James Hannaham

July 3: Panel Discussion: Reading Like A Writer: with Francine Prose, Joseph O’ Neill, & Rivka Galchen

July 4: Novelist Binnie Kirshenbaum & Poet Campbell McGrath in Davis Auditorium

July 5: Novelist Claire Messud & Memoirist Phillip Lopate

July 6: Film Screening & Discussion with Phillip Lopate in Davis Auditorium


Week two:

July 8: Poet Louise Gluck & Novelist Adam Haslett 

July 9: Novelist Russell Banks & Poet Chase Twichell

July 10: Panel Discussion: The Sense of the Past with Madeline Miller, Adam Braver & Helen Ross

July 11: Novelist Mary Gaitskill & Poet Vijay Seshadri

July 12: Poet Rosanna Warren & Novelist Joanna Scott in Davis Auditorium


Week three:

July 15: Memoirist Margo Jefferson & Poet Peg Boyers 

July 16: Novelist Mary Gaitskill & Poet Frank Bidart

July 17: Panel Discussion: Writing Sex in Fiction with Mary Gaitskill, Garth Greenwell, Daniel Torday & Robert Boyers

July 18: Poet Charles Simic & Fictionist Amy Hempel

July 19: Novelists Rick Moody & Cristina Garcia

July 20: FILM screening & discussion with Amy Wallen & others in Davis Auditorium


Week four:

July 22: Novelists Garth Greenwell & Dana Johnson in Davis Auditorium

July 23: Novelists Caryl Phillips & Paul Harding in Davis Auditorium

July 24: Novelist Joyce Carol Oates

July 25: Novelist Jamaica Kincaid & Poet Henri Cole

July 26: Panel Discussion: Democracy & The Age of Trump, with Katha Pollitt, James Miller and Tom Healy