Home Syllabus Calendar Project Opera Quizzes Resources Site map
CL 310 : Calendar
Change view
Week : Unit
 
Spring Semester 2018
  Tuesday, January 23
  Topics for today
 

-- The idea of a seminar
-- Epic and Other Literary Genres
-- Who Was Ovid?
-- Website and requirements
-- Discussions: Overview
-- Reading poetry: Met. 1.1–4

  Thursday, January 25
  Due
 

-- The proem: Met. 1.1–4
-- Creation: Met. 1.5–25

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Chaos to cosmos
-- Semester project overview
-- Sign up for research review

  Tuesday, January 30
  Due
 

-- Creation: Met. 1.26–56

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Poetry as creation
-- Hexameter practice (Met. 1.1–4)

  Thursday, February 1
  Due
 

-- The Birth of Man: Met. 1.57–88

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Humankind in Ovid's cosmos
--
Quizzes: Overview
-- Quiz 1 posted

  Tuesday, February 6
  Due
 

-- The Four Ages: Met. 1.89–124
-- Hexameter drill 1

   
  Topics for today
 

-- The fall of humankind
-- Poetry as imitation
-- Hesiod, WD 1–201 (Ages of Mankind)

  Thursday, February 8
  Due
 

-- The Four Ages: Met. 1.125–162
-- Fantham 2004, Chapter 10

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Discussion: Cail

  Saturday, February 10
  Due
 

-- Project: Topic/thesis (11:00 p.m.)

  Tuesday, February 13
  Due
 

-- Lycaon: Met. 1.163–205
-- Hexameter drill 2

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Jupiter the August

  Thursday, February 15
  Due
 

-- Lycaon: Met. 1.209–213; 218–243

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Theodicy (divine justice)

  Saturday, February 17
  Due
 

-- Quiz 1 (11:00 p.m.)

  Tuesday, February 20
  Due
 

-- Actaeon: Met. 3.155–205

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Landscape and the gaze

   
  Tonight:
 

-- The David H. Porter Classical World Lecture
-- Davis Auditorium, 6:00 p.m.

-- Andrea Eis on Penelope's Odyssey

  Thursday, February 22
  Due
 

-- Actaeon: Met. 3.206–255
-- Fantham 2004, chapter 2

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Epic catalogs
-- Discussion: Heath

  Tuesday, February 27
  Due
 

-- Arachne: Met. 6.37–52; 70–102
-- Hexameter drill 3

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Art and artists

  Thursday, March 1
  Due
 

-- Arachne: Met. 6.103–145

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Ekphrasis

  Saturday, March 3
  Due
  -- Project: Biblio 1 (11:00 p.m.)
  Tuesday, March 6
  Due
 

-- Erysichthon: Met. 8.741–784
-- Hexameter drill 4

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Ovidian deities

  Thursday, March 8
  Due
 

-- Erysichthon: Met. 8.799–808; 814–842; 875–878
-- Fantham 2004, chapter 4

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Discussion: Taylor
-- Quiz 2 posted

  Tuesday, March 13
  Spring Break
 

-- No classes held

  Thursday, March 15
  Spring Break
 

-- No classes held

  Tuesday, March 20
  Due
 

-- Apollo & Daphne: Met. 1.452–473; 490–516
-- Hexameter drill 5

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Pursuing women

  Thursday, March 22
  Due
 

-- Apollo & Daphne: Met. 1.525–567
-- Fantham 2004, chapter 6

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Transforming women
-- Discussion: Smith

  Saturday, March 24
  Due
 

-- Quiz 2 (11:00 p.m.)

  Tuesday, March 27
  Due
 

-- Pyramus & Thisbe: Met. 4.55–115

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Ovid as love poet

  Thursday, March 29
  Due
 

-- Pyramus & Thisbe: Met. 4.115–166

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Ovid as tragedian

  Saturday, March 31
  Due
  -- Project: Annotated biblio (11:00 p.m.)
  Tuesday, April 3
  Due
 

-- Tereus, Procne, & Philomela: Met. 6.519–562
-- Hexameter drill 6

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Reading Ovid's rapes

  Thursday, April 5
  Due
 

-- Tereus, Procne, & Philomela:  Met. 6.563–600
-- Fantham 2004, chapter 5

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Discussion: Miller

  Tuesday, April 10
  Due
 

-- Tereus, Procne, & Philomela: Met. 6.629–674
-- Hexameter drill 7

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Roman violence
-- Sign up for Project rough draft meetings
-- Quiz 3 posted

  Thursday, April 12
  No class today!
 

-- Use this time to complete your Project rough drafts

  Saturday, April 14
  Due
  -- Project: Rough draft (11:00 p.m.)
  Tuesday, April 17
  Due
 

-- Myrrha: Met. 10.298–310; 321–355
-- Hexameter drill 8

   
  Topics for today
 

-- The pathos of love

  Thursday, April 19
  Due
 

-- Myrrha: Met. 10.368–388; 446–468
-- Fantham 2004, chapter 9

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Discussion: Gross

  Saturday, April 21
  Due
 

-- Quiz 3 (11:00 p.m.)

  Tuesday, April 24
  Due
 

-- Caesar: Met. 15.832–870
-- Epilogue: Met. 15.871–879

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Ad mea tempora

  Thursday, April 26
  Due
 

-- Met. Readings in English (tr. Martin, 2004)
-- Proserpina (pp. 174–84)
-- Orpheus (pp. 341–4, 369–71)
-- Polyphemus (pp. 468–75)

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Project presentations: Cail, Heath, Taylor

  Tuesday, May 1
  Due
 

-- Met. Readings in English (tr. Martin, 2004)
-- Narcissus & Echo (pp. 104–11)
-- Daedalus-Icarus-Perdix (pp. 270–3)
-- Midas (pp. 372–7)

   
  Topics for today
  -- Project presentations: Gross, Miller, Smith
-- Course evaluations
  Wednesday, May 2
  Academic Festival
  Tuesday, May 8
  Due
  -- Project: Final draft (11:00 p.m.)
 
.
2021 Skidmore College Classics Department