Class Notes    About Scope    Editor's Mailbox    Back Issues    Skidmore Home



Fall 2000

- - - - - - - - - -

Contents

On Campus

Sports

People

Alumni Affairs
and Development

Class Notes

 

 
 

Step right up

From the alumni board president:
Interested in volunteering?
Alumni club contacts
Your alumni board
Accolades and honors
Events


From the alumni board president:

Every fall the alumni association’s board of directors gives all entering students a complimentary prepaid phone card. Our message to these students is the importance of staying connected and communicating. That message pertains to us as alumni as well. We spend only four years at Skidmore, but we maintain the Skidmore connection for the rest of our lives, keeping up with the friends we made at Skidmore and perhaps attending functions offered by the regional alumni clubs around the country.

But there are many other ways to stay connected to Skidmore, particularly through volunteer service. You can interview applicants for admission, serve as a class officer, join the organizers of your regional Skidmore club, or help find a job for a current Skidmore student. Whatever you choose to do, I can assure you that you will find it fun and rewarding, and it will draw you closer to Skidmore. And remember that all volunteers are invited back to campus each spring for Leadership Council.

The alumni board is pleased to present the following information to help alumni get involved with Skidmore. And any time you have questions or ideas about how your alumni board can serve you better, we hope you’ll let us know.

    Beverly Harrison Miller ’67
    President, Alumni Board

Interested in volunteering?

You can serve your class or the College in a many enjoyable ways. If you have a five-year reunion coming up soon, join the reunion planning committee. Volunteer as a class agent, help organize your regional alumni club’s events, or serve as an alumni admissions contact. Connect with current undergraduates by being a career advisor, giving informational interviews, or arranging job shadowing and internship opportunities. To get started, contact the liaisons listed below.

Admissions: Darren Drabek, assistant director of admissions (ddrabek@skidmore.edu), or Jeff Anderson ’93, alumni board chair of admissions (jsa007@hotmail.com)

Career programs: Michelle McMahon, staff assistant (mimcmaho@ skidmore.edu), or Alison Doyle, associate director (adoyle@skidmore.edu), of career services

Class volunteering: Erik Grimaldi ’98, assistant director of alumni affairs (egrimald@skidmore.edu)

Club activities: Cindy Shaw, associate director of alumni affairs (clshaw@skidmore.edu), or George Constant ’86, alumni board chair of alumni clubs (gconstant@ mmc.edu)

Fundraising: Stephen Clark, director of the Annual Fund (slclark@skidmore.edu)

Parents Council: Stephen Clark, director of parent relations (slclark@skidmore.edu)

University Without Walls: Mary Cogan, assistant to the director (mcogan@skidmore.edu), or Cornel Reinhart, director (creinhar@skidmore.edu), of UWW

Alumni club contacts

Los Angeles, CA
Amy Scribner ’86, ascribner@hotmail.com

San Francisco, CA
Josephine Leach Lewis ’57, jlewis124@aol.com

Fairfield, CT
Claire Simonelli ’74, ces1027@aol.com;
Holly K. Lorenzo ’81, hlatgre203@aol.com

Hartford, CT
Marge O’Meara Storrs ’57, mstorrs@aol.com

Washington, DC
Brittany Hoff ’93, brittanyhoff@hotmail.com;
Maritza Rivera ’91, mriver4@ushcc.com

Southeast FL
Constance Talcott Smith ’63, cts1@gate.net

Sarasota, FL
Jean Rowe Tourt ’50

Boston, MA
Amy O’Leary ’92, amyo3@yahoo.com;
Kiernan Conroy Klosek ’95, kcklosek@aol.com

Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN
Laura Martin McConkey ’84, lmcconkey@blakeschool.org

Princeton, NJ
Ann Moses Douglas ’56, anndouglas@prodigy.net

Capital District (Albany), NY
Susan Geary ’99, sgeary@emma.troy.ny.us;
Catherine Spaneas ’93, cspaneas@aol.com

Schenectady, NY
Nancy Coull Erdoes ’66, erdoes@ nyshcp.org;
Diana Clark Crookes ’69, dccrookes@aol.com

New York City, NY
Maria Klink ’97, mariaklink@yahoo.com;
Peter Wan ’95, paw@westnet.com

Raleigh-Durham, NC
Lynn Faught ’73, lynnft@mindspring.com

Cleveland, OH
Joel Bresler ’82, jbresler@ameritech.net

Philadelphia, PA
Michele Segre ’90, msegre@juno.com

Western PA
Corinne Marshall Babson ’68

London, England
Rachel Linsley ’95, R.Hulse@scfuk.org.uk

For more information about alumni clubs, please contact Cindy Shaw, associate director of alumni affairs (clshaw@skidmore.edu, 518-580-5610 or 1-800-584-0115), or e-mail George Constant ’86, chair of alumni clubs (gconstant@mmc.edu).

Your alumni board

The 2000-01 board of directors of the Skidmore College Alumni Association:

Beverly Harrison Miller ’67, President (1999-2002), beverlymil@aol.com

Florence Andresen ’57, Vice President for Annual Giving and Alumni Trustee (2000-03), fandrese@skidmore.edu

Terrill Tiffany Sullivan ’62, Vice President for Alumni Involvement (1999-2002), terrysully@aol.com

Jeanne Shipp Waldinger ’68, Vice President for Alumni Outreach (1998-2001), jwaldinger@worldnet.att.net

Jeffrey Anderson ’93, Chair of Admissions (2000-03), jsa007@hotmail.com

Neil Astmann ’00, Chair of Young Alumni and Undergraduate Outreach (2000-02), nastmann@skidmore.edu

Vincent Catalano ’83, Chair of the Awards Committee (1999-2002), vjcat@worldnet.att.net

Nicholas Cavaliere ’01, Student Representative (president of the Student Alumni Society) (2000-01), n_cavali@skidmore.edu

George Constant ’86, Chair of Alumni Clubs (1998-2001), gconstant@mmc.edu

Ann Moses Douglas ’56, Alumni Trustee (1999-2003), anndouglas@prodigy.net

Kenneth Freirich ’90, Member-at-Large (2000-02), kfreirich@intelihealth.com

Spencer Goldin ’93, Chair of Young Alumni Giving (1998-2001), sgoldin42@aol.com

Sibyl Waterman Haley ’71, Chair of Reunion Giving (1999-2002), swhaley@ blazenetme.net

Jacqueline Jung ’61, Member-at-Large (2000-01), jmjung@worldnet.att.net

Pamela Schick Kelsey ’70, Alumni Trustee (1997-2001), pkelsey@kelseygroup.com

Anthony Llano ’97, Chair of Diversity (2000-03), anthony.n.llano@chase.com

Scott Martin ’79, Alumni Trustee (1998-2002), scott_martin@paramount.com

Amy O’Leary ’92, Chair of Reunion (2000-03), bsabia@pingry.k12.nj.us

Barbara Sabia ’80, Chair of the Nominating Committee (1999-2002), bsabia@pingry.k12.nj.us

Carol Strickland ’72, Chair of the Friends of the Presidents Committee (2000-03), cstrickland@ustrust.com

Jeffrey Treuhaft ’91, Member-at-Large (2000-02), jeff@treuhaft.com

Accolades and honors

Each year, the alumni association honors outstanding alumni with awards for high professional or personal achievement and for valued service to Skidmore. Hurry! You can help the awards committee by sending nominations and letters of support, by December 8, to Vincent Catalano ’83, Awards Committee Chair, c/o Alumni Office, Skidmore College; fax 518-580-5668; or nominate@skidmore.edu. Your remarks should describe the candidate’s strengths, honors, accomplishments, and/or involvement with Skidmore; if possible, also include copies of résumés or publications, as well as names and addresses of others who can offer information about the nominee. The awards are:

Distinguished Achievement Award
Honors an alumna/us who graduated at least ten years ago and who has translated her or his Skidmore experience into distinguished achievement through professional work and/or community service. The recipient must return to campus to accept the award during Reunion (June 2, 2001).

Outstanding Service Award
Honors up to five members of the Skidmore community who have demonstrated outstanding service to the College. Each recipient must have served Skidmore for at least ten years as alumna/us, trustee, faculty member, administrator, staff, parent, or friend. Alumni recipients must be members of a reunion-celebrating class—this year, class years that end in 1 or 6.

Alumni Periclean Scholar Award
Honors an alumna/us who has achieved distinction in a field related to the intellectual and creative purposes of the Periclean society and the liberal arts and sciences mission of Skidmore College. The recipient must have a continuing concern for the Skidmore community and must return to campus to accept the award at the Periclean induction ceremony during Family Weekend next October.

Palamountain Award for Young Alumni Achievement
Honors one alumna/us who graduated from one to ten years ago and who has utilized her or his Skidmore education in a quest for excellence demonstrated by personal achievement. The recipient must have a continuing concern for the Skidmore community and must return to campus to accept the award during Leadership Council (April 21, 2001).

David H. Porter Award for Young Alumni Volunteerism
Honors one alumna/us who graduated from one to ten years ago and who has provided outstanding service to the College. Service may be evidenced through a variety of forms. The recipient must return to campus to accept the award during Leadership Council (April 21, 2001).

For more information about volunteer opportunities and involvement in the Skidmore community, call 1-800-584-0115.

Events

Leadership Council
April 20-22, 2001

Commencement
May 21, 2001

Reunion
May 31–June 3, 2001

Polo Luncheon and Benefit
August 7, 2001

Summer Exploration
August 2001

 


© 2000 Skidmore College