Skidmore Home About Scope Editor's Mailbox FeedbackBack Issues

Campus Scene
Alumni News
Who, What, When
Class Notes
Saratoga Sidebar

campus scene

Sovereignty after the Soviets
Prof. Kate Graney on Russian federalism
Expert opinion: Home audio with Jill  Linz
Faculty farewells Linke, Mensing, Partha, Miller
Art, work, and chance Raffle-ticket creativity
Plugging into "Unplugged" Dorms compete to save energy
Teammates from abroad Sports as universal language
Kids of Survival on view Vandals or Van Goghs?
Faculty honored with endowed chairs Anzalone, Brueggemann, Leavitt, O'Brien, Pfitzer, Sattler
Scholarly smorgasbord Talking ecophobia, Crackberries, and Eros
Sportswrap Winter sports highlights

Faculty honored with endowed chairs

Six of Skidmore’s 20 endowed chairs were handed over to new honorees this year.

John Anzalone, French, was appointed to the Class of 1948 Chair for Excellence in Teaching. The professorship was established to honor a faculty member who has served as a mentor to new faculty and a model of dedication to the intellectual growth of students.

John Brueggemann, sociology, holds the Quadracci Chair in Social Responsibility. The chair supports faculty members whose work focuses on situational ethics, cultural study, and sustainable social responsibility.

Kate Leavitt, art, is the new Robert Davidson Professor of Art. The chair was established by Jean-Ellen Asch ’37 and husband William in honor of former Skidmore art professor Robert Davidson.

Mary Beth O’Brien, German, was awarded the Courtney and Steven Ross Chair in Interdisciplinary Studies. Given by Courtney Sale Ross ’70, the professorship honors faculty excellence at the intersections of the arts and sciences, professional and liberal-arts programs, or more closely allied disciplines.

Greg Pfitzer, American studies, holds the Douglas Family Chair in American Culture, History, and Literary and Inter­disciplinary Studies. The chair was established by Ann Moses Douglas ’56 to recognize academic and scholarly excellence in the area of American culture.

Paul Sattler, art, is the new holder of the Ella Van Dyke Tuthill ’32 Chair in Studio Art. Established in honor of a trus­tee and benefactor who frequently participated in Skidmore’s art programs, the chair recognizes professors who have distinguished themselves in the studio and in exhibitions.