Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College

Employees, retirees recognized at luncheon

May 22, 2014

Employees, retirees recognized at luncheon

May 21, 2014
2014 40-year service employees
President Glotzbach with 40-year service honorees Mary
Lou Bates, Lary Opitz, and Roseanne Sammler. (Photo by
Phil Scalia)

Approximately 600 employees from throughout the College enjoyed a picnic lunch served by volunteers who staffed the serving tables, giving a well-deserved break to the Dining Services team. Following the luncheon, a total of 124 employees who have worked from five to 45 years were recognized for their service to Skidmore.

In addition, the following retirees were applauded:  Betty Ballou, Liz Bourque, Victor Cahn, Alice Dean, Gove Effinger, Cathy Fisher, Mary Ann Foley, Dan Green, Nancy Haldin, Don Hastings, Robert King, Susan Lehr, Mary C. Lynn, Gary Moore, Michael Mudrovic, Ed Pawlowicz, Pat Richards, Anne Turner, and Mary Wright.

A highlight of the annual luncheon is the presentation of the President’s Awards. The awards are presented annual to members of the Skidmore faculty, staff, and student body who have embraced the educational mission and cooperative spirit of the College through their exemplary commitment to personal excellence, campus pride, and community service. The awards celebrate and symbolize the wide range of contributions by individuals and groups to the quality of campus life.

Gove Effinger, professor of computer science, was this year’s President’s Award faculty recipient. Effinger, professor of mathematics, was on the All-College Council in 1997 when the President’s Awards were launched by that committee. (Please click here for a complete list of past award winners.) Initially, awards went to students, faculty, and staff members; a team honor was added in 2001. Effinger now has his own prize to go along with the one that his wife and job-share partner, Alice Dean, received in 2005. Staff members receiving the award were Mary Wright, Department of English, and Sandy Welter, MALS Program.

The Beatlemore Skidmania team received this year’s Team President’s Award. Team members are Gordon Thompson, professor of music; Shelley Curran, managing director, Zankel Music Center; Shawn DuBois, Zankel technical director, and Deb Hall, associate professor of art, along with students David Slitzky, Cody DeFalco, Eva Hagan, Matt Kugler, and Alec Cakebread, all Class of 2014; and Noah Samors and Romeo Makore, Class of 2015.

Students Sarah Arndt and Anna Graves, both Class of 2014, received President’s Awards during the Leadership Banquet on May 1.

The annual Employee Retirement and Recognition Luncheon is coordinated by the Office of Alumni Affairs and College Events, collaborating with the Office of Human Resources.

(Feature photo: President's Award winners Gove Effinger, left, Mary Wright, Shawn DuBois, David Slitzky ’14, Gordon Thompson, and Sandy Welter with President Glotzbach. Photo by Phil Scalia)

Related News

Students, staff and faculty joined together for an afternoon of mystery “making” at the Hub, a Skidmore maker space.
Apr 19 2018

Skidmore News
The contract for the construction of the first phase of Center for Integrated Sciences (CIS) has been awarded to MLB Construction Services of Malta, New York. The firm also managed the construction of the Hillside apartments, Sussman Village and the Arthur Zankel Music Center.
Apr 19 2018

Inspired by Skidmore professors’ intellectual curiosities and passions, the Scribner Seminar is a cornerstone of the First-Year Experience. Browse a few of the Fall 2018 seminar offerings.
Apr 18 2018