Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Schick Art Gallery
2017 Juried Skidmore Student Exhibition

Detail from For All That We Consider Holy, a found-object sculpture by Lena Schwartz.

2017 Juried Skidmore Student Exhibition

February 2–March 5, 2017
Opening reception: Thursday, February 2, 5:30–7 p.m.

Related lecture: Juror John Stomberg, Director of the Hood Museum of Art
at Dartmouth College, speaks on Art and the Brain: Studio Practice and
the Promise of the Liberal Arts
(Due to inclement weather, this lecture is postponed; a new date will be posted as soon as we have it.)

The Schick Art Gallery launches the spring semester with the 2017 Juried Skidmore Student Exhibition, a celebration of the imagination and skill of Skidmore College art students.

Each year, Skidmore students submit works in all materials, and from an average of 250 entries, a guest juror typically chooses 50 – 75 works for exhibition, and ten outstanding works for special awards. Awards and gift certificates totaling over $1000 are funded through donations by friends of the gallery, campus organizations, and generous community benefactors, including the Adirondack Trust Company, Soave Faire Art Supply, and Allerdice Building Supply.

The juror for this year’s exhibition is John R. Stomberg, Virginia Rice Kelsey 1961s Director of the Hood Museum of Art at Dartmouth College. Before joining Dartmouth, he served as Director of the Mount Holyoke College Art Museum; earlier in his career he held leadership positions at the Williams College Museum of Art and the Boston University Art Gallery. The primary focus of his curatorial work is American art and culture since 1900. His exhibitions are conceived to broaden understanding of how art operates in, and often shapes, society.

This year 287 works were entered to the exhibit. Out of that number, Stomberg selected 83 for the exhibition, he awarded prizes to nine and honorable mentions to two. Below is the list of award recipients. (All awards are named for the underwriter.)

Schick Gallery Award to Paris Baillie, for her painting 'Hide and Seek with the Sun'
Tang Teaching Museum Award to Vanna Ramirez, for her ceramic sculpture titled 'Elixir C2-4'
Van DeWater Award to Sarah Donovan for her lithograph titled 'Overtaken: Part IV'
Van DeWater Award to Savan DeSouza for his ceramic sculpture titled 'Neutral Bathing'
Soave Faire Award to Spencer Greenberg for his animation titled 'My Monolith'
Pro Arts Award to Isabel Goldstein for her drawing triptych titled 'Through the Looking Glass'
Allerdice Hardware Award to Yujeong Ahn for her drawing series titled 'Clon'
Adirondack Trust Award to Ben Clapp for his charcoal drawing titled 'Shattered'
Skidmore Shop AWard to Shane Kuo for his photo collage titled 'Then and Now'
Honorable Mention to Mackey Howe for his artists' book titled 'Slants Like Dickinson'
Honorable Mention to Hannah Wilson for her metal sculpture 'Untitled / Astrolabe'