Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College

Faculty-Staff Achievements, Nov. 18, 2013

November 19, 2013



Ela Lepkowska-White, associate professor of management and business, and Levi Rogers and Rachel Willis, Cargill Sustainability fellows, attended the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education Conference Oct. 6-9 in Nashville, Tenn. Lepkowska-White joined two Middlebury College representatives: Jack Byre, director of sustainability and Michelle McCauley, professor of psychology, to discuss faculty development workshops in sustainability. Rogers gave a poster showcasing Skidmore’s student-led composting program. More than 1,800 sustainability leaders from colleges, universities, and businesses throughout the country attended.

Roy Rotheim, professor of economics, presented his newest paper titled “The Economist Who Mistook His Model for a Market” at a Nov. 13 joint meeting of the Marshall Society and the Cambridge Society for Economic Pluralism at Cambridge University.

Gordon Thompson, professor of music, delivered a paper on "Reconstructing Abbey Road: Place, History, and Mnemohistory in Memories of Working with the Beatles" Nov. 14 at the 58th annual meetings of the Society for Ethnomusicology in Indianapolis, Ind. While at the meetings Thompson participated in a roundtable discussing ethnomusicology in higher education and in the public sector and was also recognized by the South Asia Performing Arts section of SEM for his role in networking scholars.


Anthony Holland, associate professor of music, is the author of an essay on the future of electronic medicine in America published on

Steven Millhauser, Tisch Professor of Arts and Letters and professor of English, is the author of a new short story, “Home Run,” published by Electric Literature.

Melora Wolff, visiting assistant professor of English, has an essay tiled “Fall of the Winter Palace” in The New Brick Reader:  Fifty Writers on Life, Art, and Writing from 22 years of Brick, a Literary Journal. Other writers featured in the collection include Jeffrey Eugenides, Michael Ondaatje, and Don DeLillo.

Please send submissions to Andrea Wise, Office of Communications.