Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Schick Art Gallery

2016 Juried Skidmore Student Exhibition

2016 Juried Skidmore Student Exhibition
February 5–March 7, 2016
Opening reception: Friday, February 5, 5:30–7 p.m.

A highlight of the Skidmore academic year as well as a popular community event, we are pleased to present the 2016 Juried Skidmore Student Exhibition, a celebration of the creativity, imagination, and skill of Skidmore College students.
This year, 273 works in all media were submitted for jurying. Juror Douglas Dreishpoon (see bio excerpt below) selected 81 works in all materials, including painting, drawing, ceramics, sculpture, jewelry, fibers, printmaking, graphic design, photography, and animation, for inclusion in the exhibition. From those, he selected nine works to receive awards and ten to receive honorable mentions. (See list below.) Awards and gift certificates are funded through donations by friends of the gallery, campus organizations, and generous community benefactors.

Excerpt from Juror's Essay
Content counts for a lot in my curatorial consciousness. So do humor and quirky images that reveal the personality of their maker. The poetry of small things colors my perception of the world. We’re encouraged to think big, and that's all right, so long as we keep our eyes on the seemingly insignificant details that can surprise and enrich us…. Read full essay here

2016 award recipients:

  • Elsa Nilert, Schick Award, for her photo diptych titled Mormor och Morfar.
  • Madeleine Welsch, Tang Teaching Museum Award, for her print titled Great Divide.
  • Juan Correa and Matt Fenster, Renee Van Dewater Award for Any Media, for their collaborative book titled Question Quarry.
  • Sanjana Gothi, Renee Van Dewater Award for Painting, for her painting titled My Haunted Loves II.
  • Paris Baillie, Soave Faire Award, for her animation titled Flaneur.
  • Juan Correa, Pro Arts Award, for his print titled Mother and Child Reunion.
  • An Phi, Allerdice Building Supply Award, for his ceramic sculpture titled His Majesty.
  • Aidan Walsh, Adirondack Trust Award, for his untitled charcoal drawing.
  • Isabel Goldstein, Skidmore Shop Award, for her drawing from a series titled Winter Emergence.

Honorable mention recipients:

  • Jackson Bryant for his drawing series titled Costumes for Adult Films
  • Camilla Busby for her bronze sculpture titled Compaction
  • Matt Fenster for Fever Dream
  • Lisa Fierstein for her animation titled Brainscan
  • Jennifer Davies for her fiber piece titled Falling
  • Jonah Jablons and Jack Solasz for their woodcut Some Slices Are Bigger Than Others
  • Tuere Lawton for her drawing titled Kinderkruezzug 1936
  • Madison Plummer for her video titled Sunday
  • Alex Salerno for her painting titledCensored
  • Nicholas Solomon for his metal sculpture titled Almost a Box

Abridged juror bio: Douglas Dreishpoon is Chief Curator Emeritus at the Albright-Knox Museum in Buffalo, N.Y., and was curator and director there from 1998 to 2014. He has worked in museums for more than twenty years, including the Weatherspoon Art Museum in North Carolina and the Tampa Museum of Art in Florida. His essays and reviews have been published in numerous catalogs and magazines, including Art in America and Art Journal. Dreishpoon holds a PhD from City University of New York and is a 1976 graduate of Skidmore College with a major in art history.