Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Philosophy Department

Cooper-Barnett Prize

Established by Dr. and Mrs. Darnell Rucker and friends of Marie Cooper-Barnett, the Cooper-Barnett Prize in Philosophy is awarded to an outstanding senior student with a major or combined major in Philosophy.

The following factors (not ranked in order of importance) will be considered:

  • cumulative GPA in the major
  • cumulative GPA in all courses
  • courses taken in the department/major
  • quality of the senior research work
  • achievement and promise for the future
  • seriousness of interest in philosophic learning


1981 Clint Corcoran
1983 Scott Steffey
1984 Karl Gerberic
1985 Jason Gross
1986 Andrew J. Field & Tom Wickham
1987 Maximilian Zutty
1988 Hilary Addington & Peter Meyerson
1989 Laurel Smith
1990 Jessica Wahman
1991 Shaker A. Khayatt, Jr.
1994 Elizabeth Edwards & William Lewis
1995 Michelle Messinger
1996 Sarah Donovan & Lissa Skitol
1997 Nobuya Ochinero
1999 Mathew Lee Klane
2000 Howard Michael Kaplan
2002 Kyle Joseph Wanberg
2004 Adam Baxter Murphy
2006 Emily Dannenberg
2007 Kevin Arkell
2009 Bradford Nesbitt
2010 Jonathan Douglas
2011 Marisola Xhelili
2012 Rose Bouboushian
2014 Henry Kunhardt
2016 Elaina Aquila
2017 Dylan MacFarlane
2018 Elliot Caron-Vera
2019 Bangxing Huang
2020 Mya Garcia
2021 Carolyn Fahrner