Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College

Inclement Weather Update

Due to current weather conditions, Skidmore College will suspend operations tomorrow, Sunday, January 20, 2019.

Residence halls and the dining hall will remain open for students on campus and those who are able to return to campus on Sunday. However, all other scheduled activities have been cancelled.

Essential staff should report as scheduled. Facilities Services will continue to work throughout the storm. Read more at

Political Science Department


The Henry C. Galant Prize
Nosheen Hotaki '18
Established to honor Henry C. Galant, professor of government, 1954–1986, and awarded to a major who has excelled in the study of comparative politics.

The Susan Riley Gunderson '64 Prize

Izzy Fischer '18
Established by Mr. and Mrs. Neil Riley, and awarded to a major in government for outstanding work in the field of American government.

The Erwin L. Levine Prize in Government
Jason Sutherland '18
Established to honor Erwin L. Levine, professor of government, 1961–1988, and awarded to a major in government who has done outstanding work in political theory, preferably in American political thought.

The Henry T. Moore Prize in Government
Kira Geary '18
Established in honor of Henry T. Moore, President of Skidmore College, 1925–1957, and awarded to a government major who has excelled in the study of international relations.