Periclean Scholar Awards ceremony set for Friday

Periclean Scholar Awards ceremony set for Friday

Four Periclean Scholar Award winners will present excerpts of their work this Friday, May 17 at 10 a.m. in the JKB Theater. They will be honored along with five award nominees and their faculty sponsors will be honored at the event, a tradition of Commencement Weekend.

The winners and their faculty sponsors are as follows:

Hilary Reid ’13 for her advanced project in English, the novella, “Jane”
Faculty sponsor: Steven Millhauser, Professor of English and Tisch Professor of Arts & Letters

Grace Sachi Troxell ’13 for her visual arts exhibition and presentation, “Layers”
Faculty sponsor: Janet Sorensen, Associate Professor of Art

Jessica Taffet ’13 for her senior recital in music
Faculty sponsor: Michael Emery, Senior Artist-in-Residence in Music

Emma Weiss ’13 for her musical direction of “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street”
Faculty sponsors: Anthony Holland, Associate Professor of Music, Carolyn Anderson, Professor of Theater, and Gary Wilson, Artist-in-Residence in Theater

Following are the five nominees and their sponsors:

Dylan Adelman ’13 for his senior thesis in Religious Studies, “Charmed: A Study of Practical Benefits in Japanese Religion”
Faculty sponsor: Greg Spinner, Visiting Assistant Professor of Religion

Kathryn Chin ’13 for her senior capstone paper in anthropology, “Becoming Authentic: Global Perspectives on the Value of Chinese Imitation Antiques”
Faculty sponsor: Michael Ennis-McMillan, Associate Professor of Anthropology

Eden Dotan ’13 for her capstone paper in anthropology, “Women Behind the Uniform: Negotiating Motherhood in Israel during the Period of IDF Service,” and documentary, “Mothering and the Military: Exploring the Maternal Perspective on Service in the Israeli Army”
Faculty sponsor: R. Kenji Tierney, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Samantha Hoffman ’13 for her senior thesis in music, “Debussy and Musorgsky: A Question of Influence”
Faculty sponsor: Deborah Rohr, Associate Professor of Music

Andrew Magazine ’13 for his senior capstone project in dance, “Inside the Mountain”
Faculty sponsor: Debra Fernandez, Professor of Dance

Following are the members of the Periclean Scholar Awards Committee,

Elizabeth Ruane, Library
Nurcan Atalan-Helicke, Environmental Studies
Debra Fernandez, Dance
Tillman Nechtman, History
Jocelyn Riley ’15, member of the Periclean Honors Forum
Jessica Strasser ’14, member of the Periclean Honors Forum

Tags: Campus Life, Periclean Awards