Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
English Department

Creative Writing

The English department offers a Creative Writing Minor. English majors, however, may elect to pursue a course of study that emphasizes creative writing and concludes with a Senior Coda.”

To qualify to write a Senior Coda in Creative Writing, majors must have completed workshops in ONE chosen genre, at both the 200 and 300 levels, and one elective course in Creative Writing.

PRE-REQUISITES FOR CREATIVE WRITING SENIOR CODA: ADVANCED PROJECTS

One of the following Introductory workshops:

  • EN 280 - Introduction to Nonfiction Writing
  • EN 281 - Introduction to Fiction Writing
  • EN 282 - Introduction to Poetry Writing
  • EN 228 W - Prose Boot Camp: Nonfiction

One of the following 300-level workshops:

  • EN 378 - Nonfiction Workshop
  • EN 379 - Poetry Workshop
  • EN 380 - Fiction Workshop

Creative Writing Electives

  • EN 251 - Special Topics in Creative Writing
  • EN 377 - Reading for Writers: Fiction, Nonfiction, or Poetry

Course descriptions for all these classes are available here.

Current and past offerings of all courses can be found here.


CREATIVE WRITING FACULTY

Calvin Baker

Calvin Baker

Professor

Phone: 518-580-5165
Email: cbaker1@skidmore.edu 
Office: Palamountain Hall 307

April Bernard

April Bernard

Professor

Phone: 518-580-8396
Email: abernar1@skidmore.edu
Office: Palamountain Hall 319

Peg Boyers

Peg Boyers

Lecturer & Executive Director, Salmagundi

Phone: 518-580-5186
Email: pboyers@skidmore.edu
Office: Palamountain Hall 327

Maggie Greaves

maggie greaves

Associate Professor

Phone: 518-580-5191
Email: mgreaves@skidmore.edu 
Office: Palamountain Hall 309

Linda Hall 

Linda Hall

Associate Professor

Phone: 518-580-5182
Email: lhall@skidmore.edu
Office: Palamountain Hall 318

Greg Hrbek 

Greg Hrbek

Distinguished Writer-in-Residence

Phone: 518-580-8398
Email: ghrbek@skidmore.edu
Office: Palamountain Hall 310

Susannah Mintz

Susannah Mintz

Professor

Phone: 518-580-5169
Email: smintz@skidmore.edu
Office: Palamountain Hall 324

Melora Wolff

Melora Wolff

Associate Professor & Director of Creative Writing

Phone: 518-580-5197
Email: mwolff@skidmore.edu
Office: Palamountain Hall 323