Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Religious Studies Department

Faculty

Chair of the Religious Studies Department: Eliza Kent

Professor: Eliza Kent

Associate Professor: Bradley Onishi

Assistant Professor: Lucia Hulsether, Ryan Overbey

Visiting Assistant Professor: William Goggin

Teaching Professor: Gregory Spinner

Professor Emeritus: Mary Zeiss Stange



The Religious Studies Department at Skidmore is committed to being an inclusive learning community, seeking to both broaden intellectual horizons and represent a range of identities among its faculty, staff, and students. We firmly believe that the study of religion fosters deep intercultural and global understanding, which in turn encourages and enables informed, responsible citizenship. Our aim, in the topics we address and in the people we hire, is to further a robust and enlightening conversation about how religions shape the world we share. We thus invite persons of any faith, class, race, ethnicity, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, national origin, age, or ability to join us in that conversation.


William Goggin

William "zeke' goggin

Visiting Assistant Professor

Office:  Ladd 210
Phone:  (518) 580-5408
Email: wgoggin@skidmore.edu

Eliza Kent

lucia hulsether

Assistant Professor

Office:  Ladd 205B
Phone:  (518) 580-8404
Email:  lhulseth@skidmore.edu

Eliza Kent

Eliza Kent

Professor & Department Chair

Office:  Ladd 209
Phone:  (518) 580-5405
Email:  ekent@skidmore.edu

Bradley Onishi

Bradley Onishi

Associate Professor (on sabbatical 2019-2020 academic year)

Office:  Ladd 210
Phone:  (518) 580-5408
Email:  bonishi@skidmore.edu

Ryan Overbey

Ryan Richard Overbey

Robert H.N. Ho Family Foundation Assistant Professor in Buddhist Studies

Office:  Ladd 212
Phone:  (518) 580-5412
Email:  roverbey@skidmore.edu

Greg Spinner

Gregory Spinner

Teaching Professor

Office:   Ladd 205A
Phone:  (518) 580-8406
Email:   gspinner@skidmore.edu

Mary Zeis Stange

Mary Zeiss Stange

Professor Emeritus

Email:   mstange@skidmore.edu