Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Safety Committee

narrow campus image


The primary role of the Safety Committee is to design, implement and maintain a comprehensive safety program that supports and encourages a safe work environment for all employees and is compliant with all external laws and regulations.

Membership: Two faculty members, one student member, one non-exempt staff member, all appointed by the President and serving staggered three-year terms; one union representative/UPSEU serving one year appointments; representatives from the Departments of Health Services & Human Resources, and the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty or her/his designee.  The Chief Human Resources Officer and the AVP for Finance/Controller serve as co-Chairs by title.  Additional members may be appointed to the Committee by the co-Chairs as appropriate.


Principles and Goals

Skidmore's safety policies are basic to the principles of safe operations and requirements of our campus. The college, in keeping with these principals and goals, will provide qualified personnel, adequate facilities and equipment to support the program. The following goals are fundamental to a successful operation:

  • implement appropriate programs and policies to protect employee health and safety,
  • identify and prevent occupational injuries and illnesses,
  • ensure management seeks to define, initiate, and maintain programs and procedures to support a safe work environment that is compliant with applicable laws and regulations and
  • continued development of programs and ongoing employee training and education in occupational health and safety.