THINK TANK INTERNSHIP LIST


Virtually every think tank has a need for interns.  Below is a select list of some of the higher profile groups.  Review their websites for summer internship details starting in January.  You may need to poke around the website to find the internship link. They will likely want a short writing sample to demonstrate your writing and research skills.

Aspen Institute  http://www.aspeninstitute.org/policy-work/aspen-network-development-entrepreneurs/jobs/summer
American Enterprise Institute  http://www.aei.org or https://aeiinternships.silkroad.com
Brookings Institution http://www.brookings.edu/about/employment/
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace http://www.carnegieendowment.org
Cato Institute http://www.cato.org/intern
Center for Strategic and International Studies http://www.csis.org/about-us/internships
Center for American Progress http://www.americanprogress.org/
The Clinton Foundation, http://www.clintonfoundation.org/about/internships
Demos http://www.demos.org/
Henry L Stimson Center http://www.stimson.org
Heritage Foundation Internship http://www.heritage.org
or http://www.heritage.org/about/internships-young-leaders/the-heritage-foundation-internshipprogram
Hoover Institution On their webpage see “Jobs at Hoover” http://www.hoover.org
Hudson Institute http://www.hudson.org
Institute for Policy Studies http://www.ips-dc.org/about/joinus
Joint Center for Politics and Economic http://www.jointcenter.org/about/employment
Institute for Women’s Policy Research http://www.iwpr.org
New American Foundation http://www.newamerica.net
Progressive Policy Institute Review http://www.progressivepolicy.org/about/jobs
Woodrow Wilson International See “Research Assistants” and also “Program Staff
Center for Scholars Internships” for specific programmatic opportunities http://www.wilsoncenter.org
The Urban Institute Review http://www.urban.org/about/careers/internships.cfm
National Conference of State Legislatures- http://www.ncsl.org/
National League of Cities http://www.nlc.org/
National Association of Counties http://www.naco.org
National Governor's Association http://www.nga.org/cms/home.html
American Legislative Exchange Council  http://www.alec.org
The Manhattan Institute for Policy Research http://www.manhattan-institute.org/
The Bill of Rights Institute

The Federalist Society

The Jack Miller Center

Pacific Research Institute

Ayn Rand Institute

Heartland Institute

Want more?  The Think Tank and Civil Society Program at the University of Pennsylvania has a Ranking System for Think Tanks http://www.gotothinktank.com/