Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Office of the Registrar

Add/Drop Procedures

 Mon Sept 5
 Tues Sept 6
Wed Sept 7
Thurs Sept 8
 Fri Sept 9

 Labor Day

 

Classes Begin

Drop/add without signature

Drop/add without signature

Drop/add without signature

Mon Sept 12
Tues Sept 13
Wed Sept 14
Thurs Sept 15
Fri Sept 16

Add Deadline
Last day to add without signature

Drop without signature

All adds, signature required (via email)

Drop without signature

All adds, signature required (via email) 

Drop without signature

Internship Deadline

All adds, signature required (via email) 

Drop without signature

All adds, signature required (via email) 

Drop without signature

Mon Sept 19
Tues Sept 20
Wed Sept 21
After Thurs Sept 22 
 Thurs Nov 10

All adds, signature of instructor and advisor required (via email) 
Reviewed by CAS

Drop without signature

All adds, signature of instructor and advisor required. 
Reviewed by CAS

Drop without signature

Drop Deadline
Last Day to drop a course without a signature 

Grade Option Deadline (S/U, letter grade, audit)

Independent Study Deadline

NO changes to schedule permitted, other than a withdrawal without grade penalty

Withdrawal without grade penalty deadline

  • You will handle your own drops on line without signature. Please complete the drops as soon as you know that you will not remain enrolled, since this may open a seat for someone who really wants it. After September 21, you may leave a class only by requesting a withdrawal and using the paper Withdrawal Form. Please note that the Committee on Academic Standing (CAS) rarely approves late drop requests. The last day to withdraw from a course is November 10.
  • During the first week of the semester, you may add open classes on line without a signature. There are a few exceptions, including the Scribner Seminars and sections where the faculty member has made special arrangements with the Registrar's Office.
  • A fair number of sections have waitlists associated with them. As slots become available, students are notified and have a specified time to enroll themselves (prior to Sept 13). If you are on a waitlist, keep checking your Skidmore email. If you no longer wish to be enrolled, please delete it from your schedule.
  • After the add deadline, you will need an instructor’s approval to add anything to your schedule.  This can be in the form of an email and you can ask your instructor to email registrar@skidmore.edu.

  • Starting on September 13, you may only enroll in a section with written (via email) approval. We want students to be settled into their classes and have spoken with the instructor about missed work.
  • Any new registration after September 16 will be reviewed by CAS and if you have missed a full two weeks classes the add could be denied, regardless of instructor approval.  Please make your enrollment decisions on time and begin your academic work immediately. This is important for getting off to the right start.