Prof. Michael Arnush Ladd 209 x5462
marnush@skidmore.edu Hours: MTuW 10-11

Web Resources

Classics Home


Herodotus' Histories consisted of one long text written originally on papyrus rolls in antiquity; the librarians in Hellenistic Alexandria in Egypt divided the text into nine books, named for the Muses (the daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne - "Memory"). The contents in general are as follows:
  • Prooimion or "prologue"
  • I: History of Lydia (especially the reign of Croesus); Persia (especially the reign of Cyrus); the rise of Persian power
  • II: Egyptian customs and the reign of Cambyses
  • III: History of Egypt; Sparta's war with Samos; death of Cambyses & reign of Darius of Persia
  • IV: Darius' expedition against the Scythians
  • V: Persia's reduction of Thrace; Ionian revolt
  • VI: Persian hostilities against the Greeks; Marathon (1st Persian War)
  • VII: Xerxes succeeds Darius; preparation for the 2nd Persian War; Xerxes' invasion of Greece; Thermopylae
  • VIII: Battles of Artemisum and Salamis
  • IX: Battles of Plataea and Mycale; end of the war
Barbour's Selections include excerpts from the first eight books of Herodotus' work. We will begin with the prooimion (p. 49, lines 1-5) and then proceed to the origins of the east-west conflict (pp. 49-51) and the story of Gyges (to p. 55); at the same time, you will read all of the work in English. Once we've completed the section on Gyges, you will determine what we read in Greek next: each student will select one section from Barbour's edition that the entire class will read.