Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College

Record participation in Workforce Team Challenge

May 23, 2013

Record participation in Workforce Team Challenge

May 23, 2013

workforce team challenge back view
Team members demonstrate their

A long-standing Skidmore tradition continued this spring as a record 28 faculty and staff members participated in the 2013 CDPHP 3.5-Mile Workforce Team Challenge Walk/Run May 16 in Albany.

The race drew approximately 9,100 runners representing more than 480 corporations and businesses to the 37th edition of the event.

Gove Effinger, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, again coordinated participation of the Skidmore team. Effinger is one of Skidmore’s best-known runners and can regularly be seen jogging around campus or in the community. In addition to the spring Workforce Team Challenge, Effinger coordinates the Celebration Weekend 5K Run-Walk, which typically takes place in October.

The top Skidmore finisher this year was Brian Woods, who crossed the line in 19:37; followed by Chris Repka, last year’s top runner, who finished in 20:27.

Skidmore team participants were as follows:

Men’s Team A: Woods, Repka, Dean Mendes, and Darren Drabek. This team finished eighth  out of the 538 male teams in the race!

Women’s A: Andrea Peterson, Kim Marsella, Denise Evert, and Barb Casey, finished 95th of the 700 women’s teams.

Co-ed A: David Peterson, Ron Seyb, Alice Dean, and Cori Houry-Kling, finished 75th of the 390 co-ed teams.

Men’s B: Tim Nicholson, John Brueggemann, Ric Scarce, Tom Trapani, 170th/538.

Women’s B: Denise McQuade, Beth Ruane, Monica Das, Lisa Christenson, 322nd/700.

Men’s C: Alan Wrigley, Gove Effinger, Gary Wilson, Leo Porter, 310th/538.

Also participating: Michael Eckmann, Joel Brown, Michael Marx, and Beth Du Pont.

Two of the original four participants who first ran in 1990 — Barbara Casey and Joel Brown — competed again this year, noted Effinger. He added, “Two people joined the 10-or-more-times club this year: Joel and Darren Drabek. Two others have one more year to go: Alice Dean and Gary Wilson.” Only four more over the course of Skidmore’s participation are in double figures: Jon Ramsey (10), Stan McGaughey (10), Effinger (18), and the champion, Ann Henderson (21).

Effinger was excited by this year’s number of Skidmore participants and expressed his hope that next year Skidmore records 30 or more participants.


Related News

Students, staff and faculty joined together for an afternoon of mystery “making” at the Hub, a Skidmore maker space.
Apr 19 2018

Skidmore News
The contract for the construction of the first phase of Center for Integrated Sciences (CIS) has been awarded to MLB Construction Services of Malta, New York. The firm also managed the construction of the Hillside apartments, Sussman Village and the Arthur Zankel Music Center.
Apr 19 2018

Inspired by Skidmore professors’ intellectual curiosities and passions, the Scribner Seminar is a cornerstone of the First-Year Experience. Browse a few of the Fall 2018 seminar offerings.
Apr 18 2018