Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
ADA Committee



During the 2008–09 academic year, a group of faculty, staff and students at Skidmore College used the Assessment of Campus Climate to Enhance Student Success (ACCESS) survey, concurrently with an external disability services audit, to better understand attitudes, knowledge and perceptions of disability issues among administration, faculty, staff and students with and without disabilities on campus. The ACCESS survey results, coupled with the external audit findings, yielded several recommendations for improving the campus climate and provision of services for students with disabilities on the Skidmore College campus. Among these recommendations was that a presidential advisory group be created and charged to implement the recommendations from the audit and promote awareness about issues of access for individuals with disabilities in the Skidmore community. The ADA Advisory Group's charge was approved by Cabinet and the IPPC, and began its work in April 2011. Following discussions and exploration around issues of access on the Skidmore campus, ADA compliance, and gaining understanding of universal design as a potential institutional approach, the committee determined that the following themes would be significant in the ongoing work of the committee and Skidmore College.

  • Facilities
  • Media/IT
  • Policies
  • Programs
  • Education/Awareneness


Committee Report

ADA Advisory Group Report- Spring 2012



  • W. Rochelle Calhoun, dean of students and vice president of student affairs
  • Patricia Rubio, associate dean of the faculty
  • David Karp, associate dean of student affairs and professor of sociology
  • Jamin Totino, director of student academic services, chair
  • Andrew Demaree, associate director of the counseling center
  • Ann Marie Przywara, associate director of residential life
  • Beth DuPont, director, IT-academic technologies
  • David Nicholson, assistant director of facilities services
  • Herbert Crossman, assistant director for EEO and workforce diversity
  • John Cosgrove,  access services librarian
  • Margaret Hegener, coordinator for student access services
  • Patricia Bosen, director of Health Services
  • Maria McColl, assistant director, summer institutes and programs
  • Elizabeth McPhee, academic advisor
  • Andrew Camp, director of web development

Student Representatives

  • Emma Starr
  • Harry Wilder