Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
World Languages and Literatures
View Brochure

Faculty (by language)

Chair of the Department of World Languages and Literatures: Viviana Rangil

Professors: John Anzalone, Mao Chen; The Courtney and Steven Ross Chair in Interdisciplinary Studies , Giuseppe Faustini, Hédi A. Jaouad, María Fernanda Lander, Mary-Elizabeth O'Brien, Viviana Rangil, Shirley Smith

Associate Professors: Grace Burton, Masako Inamoto, Adrienne Zuerner


Assistant Professor: Mary Kate Donovan, Aureile Matheron, Oscar Perez

Visiting Assistant Professor: Cate Tally, Juliane Wuensch

Senior Teaching Professors: Diana Barnes, Beatriz Loyola, Masami Tamagawa


Teaching Professor: Cathy Silber

Senior Lecturer: Charlene Grant, Timothy Freiermuth

Study-Abroad Lecturers: Susan Sánchez Casal, Director, Skidmore in Spain


Self-Instructional Language Instructors: Anna Dugan, *Regina Hartmann, *Katya Kats, *Jinyoung Mason, Shiri Zorn

* part time

 

John Anzalone

Professor of French
Office: Palamountain 408
Phone: (518) 580-5202
Email:  janzalon@skidmore.edu

Diana Barnes

Senior Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 429C
Phone: (518) 580-5212
Email: dbarnes@skidmore.edu

Grace Burton

Associate Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 431
Phone: (518) 580-5203
Email:  gburton@skidmore.edu

Mao Chen

Professor of Chinese Language and Literature and The Courtney and Steven Ross Chair in Interdisciplinary Studies
Office:  Palamountain 412
Phone: (518) 580-5204
Email:  maochen@skidmore.edu

Mary Kate Donovan

Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 407
Phone: (518) 580-5205
Email:  mdonovan@skidmore.edu

Giuseppe Faustini

Professor of Italian
Office:  Palamountain 413
Phone: (518) 580-5206
Email:  gfaustin@skidmore.edu

Timothy M. Freiermuth

Senior Lecturer of French
Office:  Palamountain 420
Phone:  (518) 580-5209
Email: tfreierm@skidmore.edu

Charlene Grant

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 411
Phone: (518) 580-5208
Email:  cgrant@skidmore.edu

Masako Inamoto

Associate Professor of Japanese
Office:  Palamountain 430
Phone: (518) 580-5210
Email:  minamoto@skidmore.edu

Hédi A. Jaouad

Professor of French
Office:  Palamountain 405
Phone: (518) 580-5211
Email:  hjaouad@skidmore.edu

Maria Fernanda Lander

Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 407
Phone: (518) 580-5231
Email:  mlander@skidmore.edu

Beatriz Loyola

Senior Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 429B
Phone: (518) 580-5214
Email:  bloyola@skidmore.edu

AuréLie Matheron

Assistant Professor of French
Office:  Palamountain 405
Phone: (518) 580-TBD
Email:  amathero@skidmore.edu 

Mary-Beth O'Brien

Professor of German
Office: Palamountain 406
Phone: (518) 580-5216
Email:  mobrien@skidmore.edu

Óscar Pérez

Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 408
Phone: (518) 580-8144
Email:   operezhe@skidmore.edu

Viviana Rangil

Department Chair
Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 410
Phone: (518) 580-5217
Email:  vrangil@skidmore.edu

Cathy Silber

Teaching Professor of Chinese
Office: Palamountain 429
Phone: (518) 580-5227
Email: csilber@skidmore.edu

Shirley Smith

Professor of Italian
Office:  Palamountain 435
Phone: (518) 580-5220
Email:  ssmith@skidmore.edu

Cate Talley

Visiting Assistant Professor of French
Office:  Palamountain 402B
Phone: (518) 580-5221
Email:  ctalley@skidmore.edu

Masami Tamagawa

Senior Teaching Professor of Japanese
Office:  Palamountain 419
Phone: (518) 580-5215
Email:  mtamagaw@skidmore.edu

juliane Wuensch

Visiting Assistant Professor of German
Office:  Palamountain 419
Phone: (518) 580-5224
Email:   jwuensch@skidmore.edu

Adrienne Zuerner

Associate Professor of French
Office:  Palamountain 409
Phone: (518) 580-5222
Email:  azuerner@skidmore.edu