Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
World Languages and Literatures

Faculty (by language)

Diana Barnes

Senior Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 429C
Phone: (518) 580-5212
Email: dbarnes@skidmore.edu

Grace Burton

Associate Professor of Spanish
Office:  JKB 202
Phone: (518) 580-5203
Email:  gburton@skidmore.edu

Mao Chen

Professor of Chinese Language and Literature and The Courtney and Steven Ross Chair in Interdisciplinary Studies
Office:  Palamountain 412
Phone: (518) 580-5204
Email:  maochen@skidmore.edu

Mary Kate Donovan

Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 407
Phone: (518) 580-5205
Email:  mdonovan@skidmore.edu

Giuseppe Faustini

Professor of Italian
Office:  Palamountain 413
Phone: (518) 580-5206
Email:  gfaustin@skidmore.edu

Timothy M. Freiermuth

Senior Lecturer of French
Office:  Palamountain 420
Phone:  (518) 580-5209
Email: tfreierm@skidmore.edu

barbara garbin

Visiting Assistant Professor of Italian
Office:  Palamountain 425
Phone:  (518) 580-5225
Email: bgarbin@skidmore.edu

Charlene Grant

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 411
Phone: (518) 580-5208
Email:  cgrant@skidmore.edu

Masako Inamoto

Associate Professor of Japanese
Office:  Palamountain 430
Phone: (518) 580-5210
Email:  minamoto@skidmore.edu

Maria Fernanda Lander

Professor of Spanish
Department Chair
Office:  Palamountain 405
Phone: (518) 580-5231
Email:  mlander@skidmore.edu

Beatriz Loyola

Senior Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 429B
Phone: (518) 580-5214
Email:  bloyola@skidmore.edu

AuréLie Matheron

Assistant Professor of French
Office:  Palamountain 425
Phone: 518-580-5211
Email:  amathero@skidmore.edu 

Óscar Pérez-hernandez

Associate Professor of Spanish
Director of Latin American and Latinx Studies
Office:  Palamountain 408
Phone: (518) 580-8144
Email:   operezhe@skidmore.edu

Viviana Rangil

Professor of Spanish
Office:  Palamountain 410
Phone: (518) 580-5217
Email:  vrangil@skidmore.edu

Shirley Smith

Professor of Italian
Office:  Palamountain 435
Phone: (518) 580-5220
Email:  ssmith@skidmore.edu

michael swellander

Visiting Assistant Professor of German
Office:  Palamountain TBA
Phone: (518) 580-TBD
Email: mswellander@skidmore.edu 

Cate Talley

Teaching Professor of French
Office:  Palamountain 415
Phone: (518) 580-5221
Email:  ctalley@skidmore.edu

Masami Tamagawa

Senior Teaching Professor of Japanese
Office:  Palamountain 419
Phone: (518) 580-5215
Email:  mtamagaw@skidmore.edu

juliane Wuensch

Visiting Assistant Professor of German
Office:  Palamountain 429E
Phone: (518) 580-5224
Email:   jwuensch@skidmore.edu

Adrienne Zuerner

Associate Professor of French
Office:  Palamountain 409
Phone: (518) 580-5222
Email:  azuerner@skidmore.edu