Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Art History Department

Prize Recipients


bannerEstablished by Dr. & Mrs. Stuart Eigen and by the College on the recommendation of the Department of Art History to an outstanding Art History major. Awarded to a senior whose academic and co-curricular record demonstrates an exceptionally varied range of notable achievements related to the major.


2020:  Yuwen Jiang
2019:   Monica Andrews

2018:   Helena Meier
2017:   Olivia Tyson
2016    Bailey Threatt
2015    Allison Jeanette Green
2014    Layla Durrani
2013    Hilary Knecht
2012    Bryn Schockmel
2011    Hillary Reder
2010    Frances Gubler
2009    Heather Gilchrist
2008    Rebecca Perry, Meredith Mowder
2007    Sarah Mintz
2006    Caitline Hinz
2005    Diane Woodin
2004    Rebecca Pristoop
2003    Stephanie Green
2002    Sarah Rubin
2001    Anna Piperato
2000    Hillary Shugrue
1999    Abigail Guay
1998    Elizabeth Clemen
1997    Tala Klinck
1996    Jonathan Kauffman


Awarded by the Department of Art History to a student who completes an outstanding project in an Art History course. Nominees may be from any class year and do not need to be Art History majors. The deadline for project submission is in late March or early April. Completed projects are preferable; those still in progress should be nearing final form. Winners are encouraged to present their projects at Academic Festival.


2020:  Alicia Sandoval Vadillo, "Re-thinking Ana Mendieta: Essentialism, Liminality, and           

2019:  No prize awarded.

2018:   Laila Morgan
           "The Pregnant, Birthing, and Postpartum Body in Modern and Contemporary

2017:   No prize awarded.

2016:   Mary Cleary
           “Fabricating an Image: How Mary Stuart, Isabella d’Este, and Other Women  
           of the Renaissance Used Dress to Assert Agency”

2015:   Grace Aretsky
           "A Fate Worse than Death: Dynamics of Disclosure in the
           Art of the AIDS Crisis" 

2014:   Colleen Hochberger
           "Art, Law and Power"

2013:   Kathryn Moynihan
           "An Introductory Unit to Lakota Beadwork: Usage,
           Importance, and Changing Perceptions Over the Past
           Two Hundred Years"

2012    Hannah Kagan-Moore
           "Portrait of the King:  Gabrielle d'Estrees and One of Her
           Sisters, the Duchesse d'Villars, in the Bath
 as Self-
           Fashioning at Sixteenth-Century Fontainebleu"

2011    David Serotte
           "Sugarcoated Subversion:  Drag and Disindentification in
           Kalup Linzy's Lollypop"

2010    Linnea Kniaz
           "Josef Alber's Photographs:  A Contradictory
           Representation of Bauhaus Architectural Ideals"     

2009    Emily Schenkein
           "Penetrating Gazes:  The Paradox of Andreas Vesalius's 
           De Humani Corporis Farbica"

2008    Emily Jones
           "The Other Side of the Tracks:  Twentieth-Century
           Urban Planning and Pittsburgh's North Side"

2007    Laura Beshears
           "The Politics of Pain: Meanings of Masochism in
           Contemporary Chinese Art"

2006    Caitlin Woolsey

2005    Christina Bruno
           "Appease, Defeat, Adore:  Interpreting Sanchi Stupa 2"

2004    No prize awarded.

2003    Molly Porter
           "Images of a Queen:  The Adaptive Iconography of
           Elizabeth 1"

2002    Elisabeth Manzi
           "Ernest Fenollosa and Arthur Wesley Dow:   Orientialists
           Ahead of Their Time"

2001    Ruth Battaglia
           "Transforming Mariana:  John Everett Millais, Tennyson,
           and the Victorian Woman"

2000    Laura Burns

1999    Ben Affleck

1998    Lauren Knopf
           "My Sole Negation"

1997    Emily Greenwood

1996    Sarah Boyd