Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College
Sociology Department

Faculty

Chair of the Department of Sociology: John Brueggemann

Professors: Catherine White Berheide, John Brueggemann, Kristie Ford, The Quadracci Chair in Social Responsibility; David Karp, Rik Scarce, Susan Walzer

Associate Professors: Amon Emeka, Xiaoshuo Hou, Andrew Lindner

Assistant Professor: Jennifer Mueller

Lecturer: Ruth Hernandez
 



Sociology professors embrace a wide range of specializations in their research and teaching. We study, and teach about, race, class, and gender; intergroup relations; global and environmental issues; media, religion, the family, culture, economy, politics, and sport; as well as theory, methods, statistics, and more.

Click on the "Faculty Information" links above to find out more about our teaching and research interests and to view our curriculum vitaes.

Catherine White BerheideCatherine White Berheide

Professor of Sociology

Office:  Tisch Learning Center 222
Telephone: 518-580-5415
Email: cberheid@skidmore.edu

John BrueggemannJohn Brueggemann

Department Chair and Professor of Sociology

Office:  Dana Science Center 169
Telephone: 518-580-5410
Email: jbruegge@skidmore.edu

Amon EmekaAmon Emeka

Associate Professor in Sociology

Office:  Starbuck Center 201B
Telephone: 518-580-5410
Email:  aemeka@skidmore.edu

Kristie A. FordKristie A. Ford

Professor of Sociology
Quadracci Chair in Social Responsibility

Director of Center for Leadership, Teaching, and Learning (CLTL)
Consultant and Founder of Skidmore's Intergroup Relations (IGR) Program

Office:  Tisch Learning Center 230
Telephone: 518-580-5425
Email:  kford@skidmore.edu

Xiaoshuo HouXiaoshuo Hou

Associate Professor of Sociology and Asian Studies
Frances Young Tang ’61 Chair in Chinese Studies

Office:  Tisch Learning Center 229
Telephone: 518-580-5427
Email:  xhou@skidmore.edu

David KarpDavid Karp

Professor of Sociology

Office: Tisch Learning Center
Telephone: 518-580-5779
Email: dkarp@skidmore.edu

Andrew LindnerAndrew M. Lindner

Associate Professor of Sociology

Office: Tisch Learning Center 220
Telephone: 518-580-5446
Email: alindner@skidmore.edu

Jennifer MuellerJennifer C. Mueller

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Director Intergroup Relations Program (IGR)

Office: Tisch Learning Center 226
Telephone: 518-580-5441
Email: jmueller@skidmore.edu

Rik ScarceRik Scarce

Professor of Sociology

Office:  Tisch Learning Center 223
Telephone: 518-580-5416
Email:  rscarce@skidmore.edu

Susan WalzerSusan Walzer

Professor of Sociology

Office:  Tisch Learning Center 224
Telephone: 518-580-5424
Email:  swalzer@skidmore.edu